Category Archives for "Education"

Articles that focus on learning, teaching, classrooms, home-schooling, Individual Education Plans (IEP). Also includes articles on going to college.

Ways the Forest School Approach Can Help Kids With Autism Grow

Ways the Forest School Approach Can Help Kids With Autism Grow https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/help-kids-with-autism-grow/

What is Forest School? Forest School is a type of outdoor education which takes place in natural spaces and encourages participants to develop personal, social and practical skills. The concept of Forest School was brought to the United Kingdom by a group of early years practitioners from Bridgwater College who visited Denmark and returned enthused […]

Continue reading

What Are the Possible Causes of Autism?

What Are the Possible Causes of Autism? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/what-are-the-possible-causes-of-autism

What causes autism? To this day, scientists and researchers are still investigating the cause of autism spectrum disorder (ASD). After years of studies and examination, it is apparent that a single factor may not cause autism. What is clear is that autism the result of a combination of physical and environmental factors that ultimately affect […]

Continue reading

Are Charter Schools A Good Option For Kids With Special Needs?

Are Charter Schools A Good Option For Kids With Special Needs? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/option-for-kids-with-autism/

Most parents of children with autism are actively and constantly seeking ways to help their children better. Not necessarily to “cure” them, but to help them better function in life and live it to the fullest. We spend a lot of time researching. We spend a lot of time at doctors’ offices, therapies, and Individualized […]

Continue reading

How You Can Create a Climate Of High Expectations in the Classroom

How You Can Create a Climate Of High Expectations in the Classroom https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/high-expectations-in-the-classroom/

“He doesn’t talk much. He reads at a 1st grade level. We’re working on coloring and staying in the lines.” As a public school special education teacher nothing upset me more than statements like these. An incoming 6th grader, the student gained three years academic growth that year. By the end of 7th grade, he […]

Continue reading

12 Easy Steps to Creating the Most Comprehensive IEP

12 Easy Steps to Creating the Most Comprehensive IEP https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/easy-steps-to-comprehensive-iep/

It’s that time of year. Your daughter comes home from school and flings her backpack at you. “Teacher says to tell you there’s a paper in there for you.” Instantly your palms start sweating, your heart starts pounding, and you feel like you want to throw up. You know what’s inside without even looking. It’s […]

Continue reading

How to Use An ABA Approach to Advocate For Your Special Needs Child

How to Use An ABA Approach to Advocate For Your Special Needs Child https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/aba-approach-for-your-special-needs/

The Planning and Placement Team (PPT) room…it’s an intimidating scene for any parent to enter, stuffy with professionals defined by their never-ending acronyms: OT, PT, BCBA, SLP. Someone hands you your procedural safeguards, a maze of words defining your rights as a parent of a child with special needs.  On the table lies a stack […]

Continue reading

How to Improve Important Skills Through Special Accommodations at School

How to Improve Important Skills Through Special Accommodations at School https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/important-skills-through-special-accommodations/

Although students with autism spectrum disorders (ASD) vary greatly across multiple domains such as age, intellectual ability, social and communication development, degree of behavioral challenges and family support, there are some accommodations and procedures that are helpful to very many students with ASD as they attempt to maintain behavioral self-control and make progress in their […]

Continue reading

When Special Education Fails to Be Special

When Special Education Fails to Be Special https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/education-fails-to-be-special/

Whether you call it special education or exceptional education, your expectations for its role in your child’s life are high, as well they should be. As parents of special needs students, we face decisions that parents of typical students rarely consider. Public, private, or charter school? Consider homeschooling? Individualized Education Program (IEP) or 504 plan? Standard diploma […]

Continue reading

What You Need to Know About the Benefits of Taking Gap Year With Autism

What You Need to Know About the Benefits of Taking Gap Year With Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/taking-gap-year-with-autism/

As a parent, it’s natural to approach life’s tasks in familiar sequences. We hold our toddlers’ hands during those wobbly first steps, stand close by during ventures onto the playground, sit in the bleachers watching our children run on the soccer field, then wave goodbye when they run the local 10K. We walk our children […]

Continue reading

International Provisions for Kids With Special Educational Needs

International Provisions for Kids With Special Educational Needs https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/kids-with-special-educational-needs/

The world is constantly evolving. Technology and medicine are becoming ever more advanced, while society is constantly striving to become more understanding, compassionate, and accepting towards our fellow people. Historically speaking, this understanding and compassion have been less than giving towards those with special educational needs (SEN) requirements, fortunately as we as a population learn […]

Continue reading
1 2 3 6