Category Archives for "Sensory"

Articles that focus on all sensory-type issues and abnormal reactions to or sensitivities to ordinary sensory input such as light, sound, touch, smells, balance, and sight.

Best Sensory Room Ideas for Children with Autism

Best Sensory Room Ideas for Children with Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/best-sensory-room-ideas/

What is a sensory room? A sensory room or sensory integration room is designed to provide calm, focus, and comfort to people with sensory processing problems, which often includes people with autism spectrum disorder (ASD). The American Psychiatric Association’s Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, known as  DSM-5, mentions the atypical response to specific […]

Continue reading

Best Autism Apparels for Kids on the Spectrum

Best Autism Apparels for Kids on the Spectrum https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/best-autism-apparels/

If you are caring for a child with autism, you are probably aware of sensory issues when it comes to clothing. Kids on the spectrum can be overly sensitive to clothing tags, seams, and textures that are not comfortable for them. Fortunately, some clothing companies are now making autism apparel that is affordable and available […]

Continue reading

Benefits of Weighted Pencils for Autism

Benefits of Weighted Pencils for Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/benefits-weighted-pencils-for-autism/

Several reports from parents, teachers, and therapists of children with autism have noted they have minor difficulties with handwriting skills. Some children on the spectrum are not able to write as well as their neurotypical peers. It is for this reason that weighted pencils were introduced and became popular among parents and occupational therapists. When […]

Continue reading

How to Help a Child Struggling With Sensory Issues and Self-Control

How to Help a Child Struggling With Sensory Issues and Self-Control https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/child-struggling-with-sensory-issues/

When a child is having a tantrum or meltdown, we tend to say, “That child is struggling with self-control.” This description doesn’t quite capture what is really going on: poor self-regulation. A child might be able to control certain actions, such as hitting one’s self or others, even when upset, but what if the child […]

Continue reading

The Remarkable Ways Sensory Gardens Can Help People With Autism

The Remarkable Ways Sensory Gardens Can Help People With Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/sensory-gardens-can-help-autism/

Experiencing nature improves physical, sensory, social, and emotional health and wellbeing and a garden is an ideal space to engage with nature. While research has and continues to demonstrate these benefits, little has looked at the impact on individuals with autism spectrum disorder (ASD). In time, we hope to fill the void and conduct some […]

Continue reading

Fun and Affordable Sensory Play Ideas for Kids With Special Needs

Fun and Affordable Sensory Play Ideas for Kids With Special Needs https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/special-needs-sensory-play-ideas/

Sensory play is important for the development of all children—and that’s even truer for children on the autism spectrum who might have sensory integration issues. Whether it’s climbing a tree, squishing Play-Doh through their fingers, blowing bubbles, or burying their feet in the sand, sensory play stimulates the senses and helps children discover and understand […]

Continue reading

How to Use Sensory Play to Improve Learning and Expand the Imagination

How to Use Sensory Play to Improve Learning and Expand the Imagination https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/improve-learning-and-expand-imagination/

Imagination is so much important. If you were to imagine dragons, dinosaurs, and without imagination, learning would be colorless and finite. For many parents, the main goal is to lead a child towards independent living and academics skills; after all, learning is the first step into the world. Being a special needs parent is demanding, […]

Continue reading

Help: How Can I Stop a Child From Headbanging?

Help: How Can I Stop a Child From Headbanging? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/stop-a-child-from-headbanging/

Headbanging may be a scary and upsetting thing to watch your child do. It is considered a self-injurious behavior (SIB),  but SIB’s and/or headbanging are NOT considered a core symptom of autism, although children with autism are at greater risk of SIB’s such as head-banging. It is also important to note that just because your […]

Continue reading

Create an Amazing Sensory Room On a Budget

Create an Amazing Sensory Room On a Budget https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/create-an-amazing-sensory-room/

Hello, my fellow sensory seeking moms and dads! Let me start by introducing myself. I am the mother of two young autistic children who require TONS of sensory input to stay regulated throughout the day. Over the years, I have experimented with what works well for them and what brings on the no-good -very-bad meltdowns! […]

Continue reading

Sensory Stress Busters During the Hectic Holiday Season

Sensory Stress Busters During the Hectic Holiday Season https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/stress-busters-during-holiday-season/

What a delight the holidays can be! Yet if you’re the parent of a child with sensory issues, making it a jolly holiday can be challenging. The stressors of unpredictable schedules, sudden transitions, and sensory input that disturbs your child are as plentiful as holiday lights this time of year. Naturally, we all try to […]

Continue reading
1 2 3 5