Category Archives for "Sensory"

Articles that focus on all sensory-type issues and abnormal reactions to or sensitivities to ordinary sensory input such as light, sound, touch, smells, balance, and sight.

How Can Sensory Deficits Impact Communication With ASD?

How Can Sensory Deficits Impact Communication With ASD? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/sensory-deficits-communication-with-asd/

As we all learned in elementary school, there are five basic senses that we use to process the world around us; touch, hearing, vision, smell, and taste.  Our sense organs (e.g., eyes, nose, etc.) receive information from the environment and relay that information to the brain for interpretation. Throughout the day, each of us processes […]

Continue reading

20 Ways to Calm or Alert the Sensory System With ASD

20 Ways to Calm or Alert the Sensory System With ASD https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/ways-to-calm-alert-sensory-system/

Children on the autism spectrum often require support to process sensory input. Some children display strong reactions to stimuli, while others tend to show little response to input. This may vary from day to day or even hour to hour. Children who have a strong reaction to sensory stimuli may avoid the bathroom because of […]

Continue reading

Best Sensory Room Ideas for Children with Autism

Best Sensory Room Ideas for Children with Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/best-sensory-room-ideas/

What is a sensory room? A sensory room or sensory integration room is designed to provide calm, focus, and comfort to people with sensory processing problems, which often includes people with autism spectrum disorder (ASD). The American Psychiatric Association’s Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, known as  DSM-5, mentions the atypical response to specific […]

Continue reading

Best Autism Apparels for Kids on the Spectrum

Best Autism Apparels for Kids on the Spectrum https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/best-autism-apparels/

Quick Navigation Sensory clothing for autismTarget Fun and Function Kozie Clothes Smart Knit Kids Calm Wear Kohl’s Autism awareness clothingAutism gifts and merchandise If you are caring for a child with autism, you are probably aware of sensory issues when it comes to clothing. Kids on the spectrum can be overly sensitive to clothing tags, seams, […]

Continue reading

Benefits of Weighted Pencils for Autism

Benefits of Weighted Pencils for Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/benefits-weighted-pencils-for-autism/

Several reports from parents, teachers, and therapists of children with autism have noted they have minor difficulties with handwriting skills. Some children on the spectrum are not able to write as well as their neurotypical peers. It is for this reason that weighted pencils were introduced and became popular among parents and occupational therapists. When […]

Continue reading

How to Help a Child Struggling With Sensory Issues and Self-Control

How to Help a Child Struggling With Sensory Issues and Self-Control https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/child-struggling-with-sensory-issues/

When a child is having a tantrum or meltdown, we tend to say, “That child is struggling with self-control.” This description doesn’t quite capture what is really going on: poor self-regulation. A child might be able to control certain actions, such as hitting one’s self or others, even when upset, but what if the child […]

Continue reading

The Remarkable Ways Sensory Gardens Can Help People With Autism

The Remarkable Ways Sensory Gardens Can Help People With Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/sensory-gardens-can-help-autism/

Experiencing nature improves physical, sensory, social, and emotional health and wellbeing and a garden is an ideal space to engage with nature. While research has and continues to demonstrate these benefits, little has looked at the impact on individuals with autism spectrum disorder (ASD). In time, we hope to fill the void and conduct some […]

Continue reading

Fun and Affordable Sensory Play Ideas for Kids With Special Needs

Fun and Affordable Sensory Play Ideas for Kids With Special Needs https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/special-needs-sensory-play-ideas/

Sensory play is important for the development of all children—and that’s even truer for children on the autism spectrum who might have sensory integration issues. Whether it’s climbing a tree, squishing Play-Doh through their fingers, blowing bubbles, or burying their feet in the sand, sensory play stimulates the senses and helps children discover and understand […]

Continue reading

How to Use Sensory Play to Improve Learning and Expand the Imagination

How to Use Sensory Play to Improve Learning and Expand the Imagination https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/improve-learning-and-expand-imagination/

Imagination is so much important. If you were to imagine dragons, dinosaurs, and without imagination, learning would be colorless and finite. For many parents, the main goal is to lead a child towards independent living and academics skills; after all, learning is the first step into the world. Being a special needs parent is demanding, […]

Continue reading

Help: How Can I Stop a Child From Headbanging?

Help: How Can I Stop a Child From Headbanging? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/stop-a-child-from-headbanging/

Headbanging may be a scary and upsetting thing to watch your child do. It is considered a self-injurious behavior (SIB),  but SIB’s and/or headbanging are NOT considered a core symptom of autism, although children with autism are at greater risk of SIB’s such as head-banging. It is also important to note that just because your […]

Continue reading
1 2 3 5
>