Tag Archives for " therapists "

The Road to Success: Growing Up With Autism

The Road to Success: Growing Up With Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/success-growing-up-with-autism/

When I was a kid, I was something of a handful. I acted out in class, antagonized my peers, and was generally a disturber of the peace. I got punished with detention more times than I can count and spent so much time in the principal’s office that I still remember what it looked like […]

Continue reading

A Parent’s Love Knows No Bounds

A Parent's Love Knows No Bounds https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/parents-love-knows-no-bounds/

A parent’s love is a special love. It is not about approval or accomplishment. It is about unconditional support and concern. It’s a love born in joy, nurtured during adversity and reconfirmed on a daily and hourly basis. It’s a love bound up in anxiety and expectation. Often worry and concern can creep in as […]

Continue reading

How To Find Balance, Meaning, and Joy Through Autism

How To Find Balance, Meaning, and Joy Through Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/find-balance-meaning-joy-autism/

My son, “Pookie” is 16 years old, nonverbal, and very severe on the spectrum of autism. He is the absolute light of our lives, and contrary to what outsiders may think, we have not been shortchanged on jot…we are the lucky ones; the ones to be envied. Here are a few of the ways that […]

Continue reading

Terrific Ways to Join Community Fun With Autism

Terrific Ways to Join Community Fun With Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/terrific-ways-join-community-autism/

For many of us, when we realize our child does not interact typically or when we receive the autism spectrum disorder (ASD) diagnosis, we retreat from the world, narrowing our social interactions to only the most necessary while we learn to cope. My son seemed to delight in this retreat; we created a ‘nation of […]

Continue reading

The Therapeutic Connection With ASD – How to Know When It’s a Good Fit!

The Therapeutic Connection With ASD – How to Know When It’s a Good Fit! https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/therapeutic-connection-asd-good-fit/

As a parent of someone on the spectrum (child, teen, adult), you are likely familiar with the process of navigating a variety of services. In my office, parents of older kids frequently recall specific therapists along their journeys who were game changers. These therapists saw inner strengths and potential in their children that had otherwise […]

Continue reading

Welcome To The Special Needs Parent Club

Welcome To The Special Needs Parent Club https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/welcome-special-needs-parent-club/

The other day, I was reading a People Magazine article about actress Julia Louis-Dreyfus and her battle with breast cancer. Fortunately, she’s in recovery and getting back to her normal life. But what struck me most about her article were these comments: “I can’t say it’s a club I ever really wanted to be a […]

Continue reading

HELP: How Do I Stop My Son With Autism From Biting When He’s Angry?

HELP: How Do I Stop My Son With Autism From Biting When He's Angry? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/autism-son-biting-when-angry/

Dear Rob, My son used to bang his head but he has stopped. For the past two months, he has been pushing and biting children in the classroom for no reason. At home, he is trying to bite us when he gets angry about not getting what he wants. Please tell me why he is […]

Continue reading

An Exclusive Look at AUTISM With Celeste Viciere

An Exclusive Look at AUTISM With Celeste Viciere https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/exclusive-look-with-celeste-viciere/

Encouragement speaker Derrick Hayes gives an AUTISM interview by asking six questions through each letter in the word AUTISM to give readers insightful perspectives from parents, experts, entrepreneurs, and other leaders in the field. Today’s AUTISM Interview is with Celeste Viciere, LMHC, who is an author and host of Celeste The Therapist Podcast at www.celestethetherapist.com. Celeste Viciere is a […]

Continue reading

Q&A Expert Advice on How to Manage ASD Behavior Without Yelling

Q&A Expert Advice on How to Manage ASD Behavior Without Yelling https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/managing-asd-behavior-without-yelling/

My grandson has mild autism and is doing well after going to therapy. But I wanted to know, do we have to shout at the child and scold him when doesn’t follow our instructions? His doctor said if he is not scolded he will not be corrected. Is it true? Sometimes I feel so sad […]

Continue reading

Top Ways Occupational Therapy Can Help Kids With Autism Every Day

Top Ways Occupational Therapy Can Help Kids With Autism Every Day https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/help-kids-with-autism-everyday/

There are many different methods of therapy that can be useful for helping children cope with the symptoms of autism. Since there are different types of autism and a wide variety of environments that autistic children may be raised in, it’s a good idea to figure out which type of therapy will best suit the […]

Continue reading