Tag Archives for " teacher "

Making the Most of Spring Break With Autism

Making the Most of Spring Break With Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/making-spring-break-with-autism/

As the end of winter inches closer, just about everyone starts counting down the days until spring break, kids and parents alike. And while there’s excitement about the vacation from school, there are also some very valid reasons why parents of kids on the autism spectrum or with various sensory issues may also have some […]

Continue reading

From Chaos to Peace – Using Mindfulness in Special Education

From Chaos to Peace - Using Mindfulness in Special Education https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/using-mindfulness-in-special-education/

Close your eyes and imagine walking into a classroom and seeing what can only be explained as pure chaos. You can see students arguing with paraprofessionals, a student laying on the floor and kicking his feet while he yells,  a student sitting in the corner with his hood on (no doubt trying to cancel out […]

Continue reading

How You Can Create a Climate Of High Expectations in the Classroom

How You Can Create a Climate Of High Expectations in the Classroom https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/high-expectations-in-the-classroom/

“He doesn’t talk much. He reads at a 1st grade level. We’re working on coloring and staying in the lines.” As a public school special education teacher nothing upset me more than statements like these. An incoming 6th grader, the student gained three years academic growth that year. By the end of 7th grade, he […]

Continue reading

12 Easy Steps to Creating the Most Comprehensive IEP

12 Easy Steps to Creating the Most Comprehensive IEP https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/easy-steps-to-comprehensive-iep/

It’s that time of year. Your daughter comes home from school and flings her backpack at you. “Teacher says to tell you there’s a paper in there for you.” Instantly your palms start sweating, your heart starts pounding, and you feel like you want to throw up. You know what’s inside without even looking. It’s […]

Continue reading

Poetry Corner: Finding Courage

Poetry Corner: Finding Courage https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/poetry-corner-finding-courage/

I wait With bated breath. I try to prepare myself For the unknown in this moment. Fear has settled itself in my heart. These are small moments for most. Normal events in childhood. There shouldn’t be fear. Trembling. Uncertainty. But there is for me. These moments terrify me. I sit, watching the speech therapist Spoon […]

Continue reading

Words of Wisdom: Celebrating Lights Of Goodness

Words of Wisdom: Celebrating Lights Of Goodness https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/celebrating-lights-of-goodness/

Inspirational words to bring understanding and compassion for people with special needs. “If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer.  Let him step to the music he hears, however near or far away.” — Henry David Thoreau Special needs Cherished Ones, either young or old, […]

Continue reading

When Special Education Fails to Be Special

When Special Education Fails to Be Special https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/education-fails-to-be-special/

Whether you call it special education or exceptional education, your expectations for its role in your child’s life are high, as well they should be. As parents of special needs students, we face decisions that parents of typical students rarely consider. Public, private, or charter school? Consider homeschooling? Individualized Education Program (IEP) or 504 plan? Standard diploma […]

Continue reading

Excellent Strategies You Need to Know for Handling Challenging ASD Behavior

Excellent Strategies You Need to Know for Handling Challenging ASD Behavior https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/handling-strategies-for-asd-behavior/

Do you avoid saying ‘no’? Do you only use the vacuum cleaner when your child is out of the house? Are you dreading dinnertime because the supermarket ran out of the particular brand of chicken nuggets that you usually buy? These are all questions often answered as ‘yes’ by parents of children with autism spectrum […]

Continue reading

How Do You Respond When You Suspect a Loved One Is On the Spectrum?

How Do You Respond When You Suspect a Loved One Is On the Spectrum? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/loved-one-is-on-spectrum/

Question: Hi, I wonder if you can offer advice on how to deal with an adult son who, although undiagnosed, I am sure is on the spectrum. He does not do small talk, doesn’t understand why anyone should be interested in what he is doing, and has no interest in anyone else. Conversations are very […]

Continue reading