Tag Archives for " tantrums "

Growing Up With Autism

Growing Up With Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/growing-up-with-autism/

Back in June 2013 I wrote about my son, who was on the verge of getting a diagnosis of being on the autism spectrum. At the time, I wanted to write about him before I got the diagnosis because I needed to remind myself that my son is not his diagnosis. I was afraid that […]

Continue reading

HELP: My Child With Autism Curses and Has Tantrums

HELP: My Child With Autism Curses and Has Tantrums https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/autism-curses-and-has-tantrums/

Dear Rob, Hello I have a seven-year-old with autism and he has bad tantrums and curses. I’m a single mom, what can I do to stop this and help him grow out of it?  — Brissa Dear Brissa, Along with the many well-intentioned efforts to understand, manage and treat the special needs child, there have […]

Continue reading

Ways Implementing Three-Term Contingency Can Help

Ways Implementing Three-Term Contingency Can Help https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/ways-implementing-three-term-contingency/

We all want to understand why our children behave the way they do. Sometimes we wish to encourage alternative behavior—other times we hope to encourage more of the same behavior. For example, a mother may wish for her child to desist from throwing tantrums in public places. Another mother may be so delighted to hear […]

Continue reading

How Do I Know If My Child With Autism is Depressed?

How Do I Know If My Child With Autism is Depressed? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/child-with-autism-is-depressed/

According to research, approximately 20 percent of the population will experience depression at some point in their lives—this statistic increases to almost 60 percent in people with autism spectrum disorder (ASD). Mood disorders (including depression) do tend to be more common in those with developmental disabilities compared to the more general population. However, depression in […]

Continue reading

Meltdowns: Video Self-Modeling to the Rescue!

Meltdowns: Video Self-Modeling to the Rescue! https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/video-self-modeling-to-the-rescue/

Does your child have a difficult time handling disappointment? Do seemingly simple requests turn into tantrums? Sometimes children learn one way to handle situations like this (i.e., meltdown) and have a very difficult time learning a new and better way to respond. It’s likely not enjoyable for you or your child when these situations arise, […]

Continue reading

Shopping With Special Needs: The Need for Understanding

Shopping With Special Needs: The Need for Understanding https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/understanding-special-needs-while-shopping/

He did great today. He really did, and so did I. Even with the “minor” setback in the self-checkout lane and the unwelcome placement of the DVD display. Let me take you grocery shopping. I promise you, it will be nothing like you have ever experienced in your life. And it’s true, nothing is exaggerated, […]

Continue reading

Rowan Found Her Voice—I Found a Better Way

Rowan Found Her Voice—I Found a Better Way https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/i-found-a-better-way/

Twenty-five years ago I gave birth to the most amazing little girl in the history of the world. She was perfect in every way, and we were crazy in love with her. But Rowan didn’t want to be touched or held. No child ever comes with a user’s guide, but in Rowan’s case, it was […]

Continue reading

Finding the Right Therapy to Help Foster Independence With Special Needs

Finding the Right Therapy to Help Foster Independence With Special Needs https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/right-therapy-with-special-needs/

Functional independence skills are necessary for daily living and establishing quality of life. For ‘neuro-typical’ individuals, we exercise functional independence every day without thinking much about it. We get ourselves up, bathed, dressed, fed and out the door instinctually. For children with autism, however, these functional skills are often not always innate. It’s important to […]

Continue reading

Simple Ways to Prepare Your Child with ASD for Air Travel

Simple Ways to Prepare Your Child with ASD for Air Travel http://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/preparing-autism-child-air-travel/

We all need holidays at least once a year. Traveling by plane is pretty exciting for many of us, but for children with autism spectrum disorder (ASD), air travel can be particularly stressful. Here are eight tips to help make traveling by plane an easier, more positive experience for the whole family: If it is […]

Continue reading

Expert Advice on How To Manage Anxiety in Children with Autism

Expert Advice on How To Manage Anxiety in Children with Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/manage-anxiety-autism-children

There are numerous research studies which suggest that a child with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) may also experience bouts of (social) anxiety. One study, published in the Journal of the American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, suggests that 70 percent of children on the spectrum also had at least one mental health disorder, with […]

Continue reading