Tag Archives for " Special Needs "

Expert Advice When You Think You Might Have Autism

Expert Advice When You Think You Might Have Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/advice-when-you-have-autism/

When a child is diagnosed with autism, the parents will be asked detailed questions about how their son or daughter is different from other children. In considering their reply, parents may reflect on whether the characteristic being described was apparent in their own childhood. If the behavior, difficulty, or ability was a part of their […]

Continue reading

How to Help Kids With Special Needs Avoid the Scaries this Halloween

How to Help Kids With Special Needs Avoid the Scaries this Halloween https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/special-needs-avoid-scary-halloween/

Halloween is easily one of the most anticipated holidays for children. It’s a day to dress up in the most fantastic costume, be anything you want to be, play pretend, and eat all of the sugary, sweet, colorful candy your parents never let you eat any other day of the year. But, as parents of […]

Continue reading

How to Make Friends on the Playground With ASD

How to Make Friends on the Playground With ASD https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/make-friends-on-playground-with-asd/

The playground represents a time for having fun where children laugh, play, run around, and form friendships. However, for a child with autism the playground is like being lost in a foreign country without knowing the language. The playground is chaotic, unpredictable, loud, and over-stimulating. We often see children with autism walking the perimeter of […]

Continue reading

Craniosacral Therapy and Sensory Integration

Craniosacral Therapy and Sensory Integration https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/craniosacral-therapy-and-sensory-integration/

What is Craniosacral Therapy? Craniosacral therapy (CST) is a non-invasive, touch-based therapy that is part of cranial osteopathy. This therapy involves applying gentle pressure on the skull, spine, and parts of the pelvis. It is used by osteopaths, chiropractors, and massage therapists to relieve pain and discomfort. Practitioners claim that craniosacral therapy can melt away […]

Continue reading

Greta Thunberg: Making the Most of Your Differences

Greta Thunberg: Making the Most of Your Differences https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/greta-thunberg-making-most-differences/

In 2003, a girl named Greta Thunberg was born in Sweden. When that girl was eight years old, she first learned about the very real threat of global warming; a threat humans had caused with their own hands. At the same time, she was assured those hands could work to fix it. If we just […]

Continue reading

A Conversation With the Next Special Needs Caregiver

A Conversation With the Next Special Needs Caregiver https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/conversation-with-special-needs-caregiver/

I just had an eye-opening conversation with the brother of an individual with autism and his father. The Dad is in not only going through the process of creating a special needs plan designed to care for his son with autism but also prepare his eldest son to take over as caregiver someday. I wanted to […]

Continue reading

Multi-Talented Man with Autism Spreads Hope and Awareness

Multi-Talented Man with Autism Spreads Hope and Awareness https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/man-spreads-hope-and-awareness/

Autism Warrior: Russell Lehmann Award-winning motivational speaker, poet, author, and advocate, who continues to overcome his personal struggles with autism to travel the world and share his knowledge, compassion, and hope. In 2003, eleven-year-old Russell was admitted to the psychiatric ward at his local city hospital and stayed for five weeks. Later that fall, he […]

Continue reading

Love Needs No Words

Love Needs No Words https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/love-needs-no-words/

Big, blue eyes smile at me And little arms extend up, fingers outstretched Reaching for me, like I encompass the whole world – These things say more than a conversation ever could. You come to me, take my hand, and guide me To sit beside you And enjoy your favorite show Or just sit, holding […]

Continue reading

Differences

Differences https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/deviant/

The story starts with a young boy. He thought he was the same as me and you, except he was a little different than everybody else. He had autism, and didn’t know until his parents told him before he moved to middle school. He still had no concept of how it made him different, until […]

Continue reading
1 2 3 30
>