Tag Archives for " social skills "

The Social Life or Lack Thereof With Autism

The Social Life or Lack Thereof With Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/the-social-life-with-autism/

In the summer of 2003, I had finished high school and was getting ready to start college. My best friend of more than two years was about to leave for the Marines. After I hung out with him one last time before he left, his parents dropped me off at my house. I said goodbye […]

Continue reading

How Cats Can Help Children With Autism Become More Social

How Cats Can Help Children With Autism Become More Social https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/cats-help-children-with-autism/

Cats are lovable and cute, but what most people don’t know is that these furry animals can help children with autism improve their social skills. Cats bond with the children by providing affection and attention which promotes healthy relationships. Parents with children who have autism spectrum disorder (ASD) might not want to get their child […]

Continue reading

Preparing for the Social Transition to Adulthood With Special Needs

Preparing for the Social Transition to Adulthood With Special Needs https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/preparing-social-transition-with-special-needs/

Perhaps the single greatest, and most frightening moment of a parent’s life is the birth of a child. As you stare in the innocent and precious eyes of your newborn, the gravity of the task of being a parent falls squarely upon your shoulders. No book is given to you that has all the answers […]

Continue reading

ASL Offers New Opportunities for Communicating with Autism

ASL Offers New Opportunities for Communicating With Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/opportunities-for-communicating-with-autism/

American Sign Language (ASL) is the third most used foreign language in the United States. It ranks right behind Spanish and French, with approximately 2 million individuals in the United States utilizing it (Gallaudet University Library, 2016). How can this beautiful language be used to benefit the lives of children with autism? 1. Does Your […]

Continue reading

The Value of Nurturing Your Special Needs Child’s Hidden Talent

The Value of Nurturing Your Special Needs Child's Hidden Talent https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/special-need-child-hidden-talent/

Our son, Himal, was only two years old when he was diagnosed with profound, non-verbal autism. Fifteen years later, despite all the unknowns and challenges ahead, we have never felt more hopeful about his future. As the parent of a child with autism spectrum disorder (ASD), do you feel genuinely optimistic about your child’s future? […]

Continue reading

Planning the Best Playdate for Your Child With Autism

Planning the Best Playdate for Your Child With Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/planning-best-playdate-with-autism/

The word “playdate” is a dreaded word for many autism families.  I know numerous families that will avoid playdates for several reasons. Many parents think their child cannot participate in them because they lack the play, social, and verbal skills to be successful. Some parents will not schedule playdates because they are not themselves social. […]

Continue reading

The Pros and Cons of Screen Time for Kids with ASD

The Pros and Cons of Screen Time for Kids with ASD https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/screen-time-kids-with-asd/

Children with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) often face difficulty in understanding and navigating the world around them. A slight trigger can cause children who have ASD to become hyperactive. Furthermore, autistic children are prone to repeating specific patterns of behavior, which makes it difficult to interact with others. This is why digital devices provide an […]

Continue reading

Best Ways to Help Kids Build Social and Verbal Skills

Best Ways to Help Kids Build Social and Verbal Skills https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/build-social-and-verbal-skills/

Children with autism spectrum disorder can sometimes find communication and social interaction difficult, and parents can feel shut out. But caregivers can make a big difference in opening the door to communication—and part of it might boil down to meat and potatoes. Why are we bringing dinner into the discussion? Keep reading! Changing the way […]

Continue reading

Autism Education: Homeschooling a Child With Autism

Autism Education: Homeschooling a Child With Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/homeschooling-with-autism-child/

If you’re considering the homeschooling path for your child, chances are you’re not satisfied with your child’s current educational setting. Whether it’s a public or private school, some parents or guardians discover the typical learning environment there just contains too many factors that can negatively impact their children. What works well for some children with […]

Continue reading

Effective Ways You Can Assess and Teach Social Skills

Effective Ways You Can Assess and Teach Social Skills https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/effective-ways-assess-social-skills/

Most parents with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) children want them to have effective social coaching in school to supplement what’s done at home. School Individualized Education Programs (IEP) usually include groups using social learning curriculum. How do we assess whether the child is learning effective skills? Are there any possible negative effects of social skills instruction, or […]

Continue reading
1 2 3 10