Tag Archives for " parents "

Why It’s Important to Embrace Autism Research

Why It’s Important to Embrace Autism Research https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/why-important-embrace-autism-research/

Research is very important for parents to understand—unfortunately, it isn’t something that a lot of families have time for or can easily access. It may seem that research exists in an ivory tower. I want to inspire you to embrace research. It helps inform the practitioners and teachers that work with your loved one on […]

Continue reading

Life With Asperger’s: Learning As I Go

Life With Asperger's: Learning As I Go https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/life-with-aspergers-learning-go/

I’m scrunched up under a desk. My 3rdgrade teacher, Mrs. Alexander, implores me to come out and participate. I reply with grunts. All I want is my Game Boy Advance. That was me throughout elementary school—an unfiltered troublemaker who lacked the skills to assimilate into his surroundings. All thanks to something called Asperger’s. It’s the […]

Continue reading

The Struggles of a Teenage Girl With a Late Autism Diagnosis

The Struggles of a Teenage Girl With a Late Autism Diagnosis https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/struggles-teenage-girl-autism-diagnosis/

We entered through the glass doors and were swept along with the crowd up escalators, down long hallways lined with multicolored fluorescent light tubes hung as art. People walked in pairs, groups of three, parents with their teens, groups of teens. We walked down a tunnel lined with pink and yellow glass through which we […]

Continue reading

How to Teach ABA Without Making Your Child a Robot

How to Teach ABA Without Making Your Child a Robot https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/teach-without-making-child-robot/

His life was a routine. His life was a schedule. His life was steps. His day-to-day life was chronological. We evolve into the militant enforcers of a strict routine, a strict schedule, the strict followers of chronological order, and we do not delve from that line. Yet, in the physics of constant movement, in the physics […]

Continue reading

10 Behavior Analytic Steps to Forgiveness You Need to Know

10 Behavior Analytic Steps to Forgiveness You Need to Know https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/behavior-analytic-forgiveness-to-know/

What constitutes forgiveness and the best pathway to achieving it is one of the most debated topics around. Some argue that in order to forgive, one must forget past transgressions and “take the high road” or “be the bigger person.” Others claim that forgiveness sets you free. What does all this mean and which philosophy […]

Continue reading

Noah’s Voice: Non-Speaking Man Advocates for Big Changes

Noah’s Voice: Non-Speaking Man Advocates for Big Changes https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/noah-voice-man-advocates-changes/

Nadine and David Seback are the parents of an amazing 20-year-old young man on the autism spectrum named Noah. He is nonverbal but has learned along with his parents to point to letters on a letter board to communicate, so he now is a strong advocate for nonverbal individuals on the spectrum.   I met […]

Continue reading

Terrific Ways to Join Community Fun With Autism

Terrific Ways to Join Community Fun With Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/terrific-ways-join-community-autism/

For many of us, when we realize our child does not interact typically or when we receive the autism spectrum disorder (ASD) diagnosis, we retreat from the world, narrowing our social interactions to only the most necessary while we learn to cope. My son seemed to delight in this retreat; we created a ‘nation of […]

Continue reading

An Exclusive Look at AUTISM with Chip Wright

An Exclusive Look at AUTISM with Chip Wright https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/an-exclusive-look-chip-wright/

Encouragement Speaker Derrick Hayes gives an AUTISM Interview by asking six questions through each letter in the word AUTISM to give readers an insightful perspective from parents, experts, entrepreneurs and other leaders in the field. Today’s AUTISM Interview is with Chip Wright who is the father of a son with autism and serves on the […]

Continue reading

Heaven Must Be a Little Like My Dance Class

Heaven Must Be a Little Like My Dance Class https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/heaven-must-like-dance-class/

I enter the room late. My brother drives me to ballroom dance class on time, but I get stuck in the car and can’t move. I have this pair of swim goggles that I had just modified, having cut out all the rubbery parts except for most of the strap. I am enjoying the crisp […]

Continue reading

Quick Tips on Communications for Children With Autism and Special Needs

Quick Tips on Communications for Children With Autism and Special Needs https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/tips-on-communications-with-autism/

As a pediatrician, I have been taught that the developmental progress of a three to four-year-old should include well over 500 words and a child should be able to describe things and situations in a meaningful way. This milestone is one that all parents strive for as it is an important part of a child’s […]

Continue reading
1 2 3 8