Tag Archives for " opportunities "

Motherhood: Finding Their Joy…and Yours

Motherhood: Finding Their Joy…and Yours https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/motherhood-finding-their-joy-yours/

My mother always told me, “Motherhood is not for wimps.” No truer words can be spoken for any parent of a child on the spectrum. What keeps us going are the day to day and sometimes the moment to moment joys. As parents, watching our autistic children succeed or be valued for their contribution to […]

Continue reading

How to Help a Special Needs Child With Behavior Challenges: A Parenting Toolbox Approach

How to Help a Special Needs Child With Behavior Challenges: A Parenting Toolbox Approach https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/how-behavior-challenges-parenting-approach/

Over the years as a behavior analyst, I have been able to work with a varying number of parents and caregivers who have son or daughters diagnosed with developmental disabilities. During these interactions, it has become prevalent that strategies that have been recommended by helping professionals to reduce challenging behaviors are tough to remember and […]

Continue reading

Autism Warrior: Angeline Francis Khoo Luxury Designer Empowers People With Special Needs With Training And Jobs

Autism Warrior: Angeline Francis Khoo Luxury Designer Empowers People With Special Needs With Training And Jobs https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/empowers-people-training-and-jobs/

Angeline Francis Khoo is the founder of Rosie On Fire, a fashion company dedicated to hiring people with autism into roles that play to their strengths. She said was inspired to provide these opportunities after seeing her siblings, who are on the autism spectrum, overlooked in the job market. “We do this by focusing on creating […]

Continue reading

The Cruel Double-Standard Behind Autism and Access

The Cruel Double-Standard Behind Autism and Access https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/standard-behind-autism-and-access/

Recently, The Washington Post published my opinion piece My Son Has Autism. He Deserves Separate Sensory-Friendly Opportunities which focused on why sensory-friendly (SF) opportunities should be the law of the land. The swift rise of vitriol alerted me to ways in which message being misconstrued on many sides, even by select parents who themselves have […]

Continue reading

Are IQ Tests Really Useful When Evaluating A Child With Autism?

Are IQ Tests Really Useful When Evaluating A Child With Autism? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/evaluating-a-child-with-autism/

Standardized cognitive testing is a complicated subject when it comes to assessing children with autism spectrum disorder (ASD). Their social, communication, sensory and behavior problems compound the difficulties in administering a standardized measure. The tests rely heavily on the subject’s language skills, ability to interact with others, motor planning and execution, and behavioral regulation. Typically, […]

Continue reading

The Best Ways to Help People with Autism Manage Anxiety

The Best Ways to Help People with Autism Manage Anxiety https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/people-with-autism-manage-anxiety/

Many children with autism have higher rates of anxiety than their peers. Specifically, nearly 40 percent of children and adolescents with autism are estimated to have clinically significant anxiety or at least one anxiety disorder (Van Steensel et al. 2011). Anxiety is experienced when errors in thinking that include exaggerating threat or danger as well […]

Continue reading

How to Find the Right Social Skills Group for Your Child

How to Find the Right Social Skills Group for Your Child https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/social-skills-group-for-children/

Mastering social skills is generally an ongoing endeavor for kids on the autism spectrum. Just when you master one skill, peers get older, change, and it’s time for an upgrade. How do you know if your child is ready to benefit from learning social skills in a group setting? In my office, groups promote safe […]

Continue reading

How You Can Create a Climate Of High Expectations in the Classroom

How You Can Create a Climate Of High Expectations in the Classroom https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/high-expectations-in-the-classroom/

“He doesn’t talk much. He reads at a 1st grade level. We’re working on coloring and staying in the lines.” As a public school special education teacher nothing upset me more than statements like these. An incoming 6th grader, the student gained three years academic growth that year. By the end of 7th grade, he […]

Continue reading

When ASD Children Become Easy Prey For Bullies

When ASD Children Become Easy Prey For Bullies https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/asd-children-easy-for-bullies/

Bullying is an issue for all adolescents and teens, but none more so than those on the autism spectrum who often experience abusive and antagonistic behavior from peers nearly half of the time. That’s about twice as often as bullying experienced by average adolescents, according to the National Bullying Prevention Center. Autism spectrum disorders (ASD) […]

Continue reading

Finding a Winning Special Needs Exercise Program

Finding a Winning Special Needs Exercise Program https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/winning-special-needs-exercise-program/

Whether in the gym, residential, or outdoor setting, engagement in routine exercise can help individuals on the autism spectrum to dramatically improve their physical, mental, emotional, and social wellbeing. As time spent in the fitness setting creates opportunities to develop communication skills, facilitate sensory processing, and enhance social awareness, exercise task demands gradually transform into […]

Continue reading
1 2 3