Tag Archives for " opportunities "

ASL Offers New Opportunities for Communicating with Autism

ASL Offers New Opportunities for Communicating With Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/opportunities-for-communicating-with-autism/

American Sign Language (ASL) is the third most used foreign language in the United States. It ranks right behind Spanish and French, with approximately 2 million individuals in the United States utilizing it (Gallaudet University Library, 2016). How can this beautiful language be used to benefit the lives of children with autism? 1. Does Your […]

Continue reading

The Value of Nurturing Your Special Needs Child’s Hidden Talent

The Value of Nurturing Your Special Needs Child's Hidden Talent https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/special-need-child-hidden-talent/

Our son, Himal, was only two years old when he was diagnosed with profound, non-verbal autism. Fifteen years later, despite all the unknowns and challenges ahead, we have never felt more hopeful about his future. As the parent of a child with autism spectrum disorder (ASD), do you feel genuinely optimistic about your child’s future? […]

Continue reading

20 Ways to Calm or Alert the Sensory System With ASD

20 Ways to Calm or Alert the Sensory System With ASD https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/ways-to-calm-alert-sensory-system/

Children on the autism spectrum often require support to process sensory input. Some children display strong reactions to stimuli, while others tend to show little response to input. This may vary from day to day or even hour to hour. Children who have a strong reaction to sensory stimuli may avoid the bathroom because of […]

Continue reading

How to Build the Road to Independence With Autism

How to Build the Road to Independence With Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/build-road-independence-with-autism/

From the moment a student is placed in an educational program, the school should be thinking about how it’s preparing him/her to travel the road to independence. While there is a wide range of cognitive, motor and communication abilities among students on the autism spectrum, they all are on the road to acquire as much […]

Continue reading

A Changing Child With Autism Needs a Changing Parent

A Changing Child With Autism Needs a Changing Parent https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/changing-child-autism-needs-parent/

Diagnosis often brings with it clarity of thought. We are given an explanation and often concrete actions in the shape of therapy. A lot of therapy. We take our child to so much therapy that our clarity becomes lost in the fog of scheduling, implementing, analyzing, assessing, researching, changing, and repeating that cycle. Then one […]

Continue reading

Motherhood: Finding Their Joy…and Yours

Motherhood: Finding Their Joy…and Yours https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/motherhood-finding-their-joy-yours/

My mother always told me, “Motherhood is not for wimps.” No truer words can be spoken for any parent of a child on the spectrum. What keeps us going are the day to day and sometimes the moment to moment joys. As parents, watching our autistic children succeed or be valued for their contribution to […]

Continue reading

How to Help a Special Needs Child With Behavior Challenges: A Parenting Toolbox Approach

How to Help a Special Needs Child With Behavior Challenges: A Parenting Toolbox Approach https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/how-behavior-challenges-parenting-approach/

Over the years as a behavior analyst, I have been able to work with a varying number of parents and caregivers who have son or daughters diagnosed with developmental disabilities. During these interactions, it has become prevalent that strategies that have been recommended by helping professionals to reduce challenging behaviors are tough to remember and […]

Continue reading

Autism Warrior: Angeline Francis Khoo Luxury Designer Empowers People With Special Needs With Training And Jobs

Autism Warrior: Angeline Francis Khoo Luxury Designer Empowers People With Special Needs With Training And Jobs https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/empowers-people-training-and-jobs/

Angeline Francis Khoo is the founder of Rosie On Fire, a fashion company dedicated to hiring people with autism into roles that play to their strengths. She said was inspired to provide these opportunities after seeing her siblings, who are on the autism spectrum, overlooked in the job market. “We do this by focusing on creating […]

Continue reading

The Cruel Double-Standard Behind Autism and Access

The Cruel Double-Standard Behind Autism and Access https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/standard-behind-autism-and-access/

Recently, The Washington Post published my opinion piece My Son Has Autism. He Deserves Separate Sensory-Friendly Opportunities which focused on why sensory-friendly (SF) opportunities should be the law of the land. The swift rise of vitriol alerted me to ways in which message being misconstrued on many sides, even by select parents who themselves have […]

Continue reading

Are IQ Tests Really Useful When Evaluating A Child With Autism?

Are IQ Tests Really Useful When Evaluating A Child With Autism? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/evaluating-a-child-with-autism/

Standardized cognitive testing is a complicated subject when it comes to assessing children with autism spectrum disorder (ASD). Their social, communication, sensory and behavior problems compound the difficulties in administering a standardized measure. The tests rely heavily on the subject’s language skills, ability to interact with others, motor planning and execution, and behavioral regulation. Typically, […]

Continue reading