Tag Archives for " occupational therapy "

You Are an Important Part of The Solution In The Autism Diagnosis

You Are an Important Part of The Solution In The Autism Diagnosis https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/important-part-solution-autism-diagnosis/

Three years ago, my husband and I were facing very difficult questions. Those questions often didn’t have simple answers, and worse, the professional answers we received didn’t always mesh with other professional answers. How would I navigate this? I can tell you my pediatrician felt that my son was “just a boy.” Had I listened […]

Continue reading

How to Create the Dream Team for Your Autistic Child

How to Create the Dream Team for Your Autistic Child https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/dream-team-for-autistic-child/

You won’t be able to build a dream team, even in a city rich in services if you don’t first identify what you and your child need, and that is difficult because you probably don’t know all that is out there, and what you need often changes.  Look to your child for guidance. Once you […]

Continue reading

Autism Myths vs Autism Facts

Autism Myths vs Autism Facts https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/autism-myths-and-facts/

While the term autism spectrum disorder (ASD) has been used by scientists and doctors for decades, we don’t have all the answers surrounding this developmental disability. Finding the advice and support autism families need can be challenging as there is a lot of inconsistent information and technical progress can be slow. To understand autism and […]

Continue reading

Best Sensory Room Ideas for Children with Autism

Best Sensory Room Ideas for Children with Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/best-sensory-room-ideas/

What is a sensory room? A sensory room or sensory integration room is designed to provide calm, focus, and comfort to people with sensory processing problems, which often includes people with autism spectrum disorder (ASD). The American Psychiatric Association’s Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, known as  DSM-5, mentions the atypical response to specific […]

Continue reading

Parenting A Child With Autism Is a Valuable Full-Time Job

Parenting A Child With Autism Is a Valuable Full-Time Job https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/parenting-valuable-full-time-job/

I don’t have a job yet my calendar is filled with to-dos, appointments, and tasks required of me. I have a psychology degree hanging on the wall that everyone around me seems to have forgotten collecting dust as I interact with therapists that often think of me as “just another special needs mom.” I attend […]

Continue reading

Emotional Therapy: How to Bridge the Gap For People With Special Needs

Emotional Therapy: How to Bridge the Gap For People With Special Needs https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/emotional-therapy-people-special-needs/

If humans are anything, first, we are emotional beings. Newborn babies in the NICU are proven to have increased chances of survival directly correlated with how much physical contact they receive. This has been the root of hospital volunteer baby huggers programs in which they bring in volunteers to simply hug and cuddle infants to […]

Continue reading

How To Find Balance, Meaning, and Joy Through Autism

How To Find Balance, Meaning, and Joy Through Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/find-balance-meaning-joy-autism/

My son, “Pookie” is 16 years old, nonverbal, and very severe on the spectrum of autism. He is the absolute light of our lives, and contrary to what outsiders may think, we have not been shortchanged on jot…we are the lucky ones; the ones to be envied. Here are a few of the ways that […]

Continue reading

Better Understanding Hyperlexia and Comprehension in Autism

Better Understanding Hyperlexia and Comprehension in Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/better-understanding-hyperlexia-comprehension-autism/

Many parents with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) children are aware at some point that their child has a very accelerated splinter skill, a specific task that does not generalize to other tasks. For some parents, they may have noticed that their child is very advanced in art or music, and yet some highly advanced abilities […]

Continue reading

Benefits and Uses of Weighted Vest for Autism

Benefits and Uses of Weighted Vest for Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/weighted-vest-benefits-for-autism/

What is a weighted vest? A weighted vest is a garment worn over clothing with extra weight added within the vest. This is done either by using heavy fabric or filling the vest’s pockets with weighted objects such as steel bars or sandbags. It is designed to add between five to ten percent of a […]

Continue reading

The Therapeutic Connection With ASD – How to Know When It’s a Good Fit!

The Therapeutic Connection With ASD – How to Know When It’s a Good Fit! https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/therapeutic-connection-asd-good-fit/

As a parent of someone on the spectrum (child, teen, adult), you are likely familiar with the process of navigating a variety of services. In my office, parents of older kids frequently recall specific therapists along their journeys who were game changers. These therapists saw inner strengths and potential in their children that had otherwise […]

Continue reading