Tag Archives for " meltdowns "

Create an Amazing Sensory Room On a Budget

Create an Amazing Sensory Room On a Budget https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/create-an-amazing-sensory-room/

Hello, my fellow sensory seeking moms and dads! Let me start by introducing myself. I am the mother of two young autistic children who require TONS of sensory input to stay regulated throughout the day. Over the years, I have experimented with what works well for them and what brings on the no-good -very-bad meltdowns! […]

Continue reading

This Is My House: Why I Placed My Son With Autism in a Group Home

This Is My House: Why I Placed My Son With Autism in a Group Home https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/autism-in-a-group-home/

All parents schedule their kid’s departure from their home to be around the age of 18 years. I often joke that my twins have an 18-year contract in my house and then they get the boot. So it is hard to put into words how that deadline got moved up by 12 years for my […]

Continue reading

Top Ways Occupational Therapy Can Help Kids With Autism Every Day

Top Ways Occupational Therapy Can Help Kids With Autism Every Day https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/help-kids-with-autism-everyday/

There are many different methods of therapy that can be useful for helping children cope with the symptoms of autism. Since there are different types of autism and a wide variety of environments that autistic children may be raised in, it’s a good idea to figure out which type of therapy will best suit the […]

Continue reading

Meltdowns: Video Self-Modeling to the Rescue!

Meltdowns: Video Self-Modeling to the Rescue! https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/video-self-modeling-to-the-rescue/

Does your child have a difficult time handling disappointment? Do seemingly simple requests turn into tantrums? Sometimes children learn one way to handle situations like this (i.e., meltdown) and have a very difficult time learning a new and better way to respond. It’s likely not enjoyable for you or your child when these situations arise, […]

Continue reading

Rowan Found Her Voice—I Found a Better Way

Rowan Found Her Voice—I Found a Better Way https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/i-found-a-better-way/

Twenty-five years ago I gave birth to the most amazing little girl in the history of the world. She was perfect in every way, and we were crazy in love with her. But Rowan didn’t want to be touched or held. No child ever comes with a user’s guide, but in Rowan’s case, it was […]

Continue reading

Best Ways to Explore the World With Your Special Needs Child

Best Ways to Explore the World With Your Special Needs Child https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/exploring-world-with-special-child/

Travel is a core component of life; we all have a natural tendency to explore the world throughout our lifespan. Expanding our horizons not only offers a relaxing getaway but broadens the mind through new situations and experiences. Not only are the young and free travelling, but families are also now making the decision to […]

Continue reading

Special Needs Parents: You Are Not Alone

Special Needs Parents: You Are Not Alone https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/you-are-not-alone-parents/

At times I feel very alone! Yes, I will admit it may seem very difficult to feel alone while being in the company of little children day in and day out, though there is a vast difference between being lonely and being alone. I may, in fact, have company everywhere— in my bed the few […]

Continue reading

Simple Ways to Prepare Your Child with ASD for Air Travel

Simple Ways to Prepare Your Child with ASD for Air Travel http://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/preparing-autism-child-air-travel/

We all need holidays at least once a year. Traveling by plane is pretty exciting for many of us, but for children with autism spectrum disorder (ASD), air travel can be particularly stressful. Here are eight tips to help make traveling by plane an easier, more positive experience for the whole family: If it is […]

Continue reading

Issue 73 – Amazing Ways To Support Autism

Buy Single Issue Subscribe today and save 50% Features: Easy Ways to Help Your Child Socialize Using Video Self-Modeling Learn simple ways to teach social skills using an innovative tool known as Video Self-Modeling. Melissa M. Root, PhD Special Needs and Safety: Ways To Keep Kids Protected Follow a three-step approach to preventing accidents or […]

Continue reading

Expert Ways to Help Tame Tantrums and Manage Meltdowns

Expert Ways to Help Tame Tantrums and Manage Meltdowns https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/tame-tantrums-manage-meltdowns

Every parent has experienced the embarrassment, frustration, and exhaustion of a child’s temper tantrum. It doesn’t matter what is the diagnosis or developmental stage—and it happens to both the novice and most experienced parents. Inevitably, if you have a child, you will find yourself trying to manage behavioral outbursts. If you’re a parent of a […]

Continue reading
1 2 3