Tag Archives for " medications "

Where Does Cannabis Fit In With Autism Treatment?

Where Does Cannabis Fit In With Autism Treatment? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/cannabis-fit-with-autism-treatment/

Autism typically causes social difficulties and repetitive behaviors, as well as intellectual disabilities, and even physical symptoms like insomnia, irritability, hyperactivity and digestive troubles. Caregivers often turn to herbal substances or alternative medications to treat these types of symptoms. In fact, about 40 percent of families with children with autism or other developmental disorders turn to […]

Continue reading

Top 10 Ways to Develop a Better Relationship With Your Aspie Teen

Top 10 Ways to Develop a Better Relationship With Your Aspie Teen https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/better-relationship-with-your-aspie/

As parents, we all want to have the best possible relationship with our children. Teen years can be particularly difficult, especially when your teen is on the spectrum. And no matter how much advice we get from the professionals, it is still hard to accept some of the behavioral traits of our Aspie teens. It […]

Continue reading

This Is My House: Why I Placed My Son With Autism in a Group Home

This Is My House: Why I Placed My Son With Autism in a Group Home https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/autism-in-a-group-home/

All parents schedule their kid’s departure from their home to be around the age of 18 years. I often joke that my twins have an 18-year contract in my house and then they get the boot. So it is hard to put into words how that deadline got moved up by 12 years for my […]

Continue reading

Autism and Comorbidities: How to Treat One While Treating the Other

Autism and Comorbidities: How to Treat One While Treating the Other https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/treat-one-while-treating-the-other/

Q&A with Matthew Fisher, MD, Medical Leader, Springbrook Autism Behavioral Health Psychiatric Residential Treatment Program and Outpatient Psychiatry Individuals with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) commonly experience other medical conditions or comorbidities that can sometimes mask or even exacerbate symptoms of autism. At the top of the list are psychiatric conditions, neurological issues, and even gastrointestinal […]

Continue reading

New Treatment May Help ASD Kids Struggling With Weight Gain

New Treatment May Help ASD Kids Struggling With Weight Gain https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/treatments-may-help-weight-gain/

As many parents already know, medications for managing autism spectrum disorder (ASD) can cause challenging side effects. For the common symptoms of irritability and agitation, only two drugs are FDA approved—risperidone and aripiprazole—and unfortunately both can cause intense food cravings that lead to weight gain. The drugs are effective at reducing tantrums and aggression, so […]

Continue reading

The Benefits of Medical Marijuana and CBD Oil for Autism

Benefits of Medical Marijuana and Autism to Be Studied https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/benefits-of-medical-marijuana-and-autism-to-be-studied

Children’s Hospital will study medical marijuana’s effect on children with autism An upcoming study at Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia will be the first of its kind in the United States to examine the benefits of medical marijuana in children with autism spectrum disorder (ASD). The study is in partnership with an Australian biopharmaceutical company called […]

Continue reading

Regressive Autism – Why It Occurs

What is Regressive Autism? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/what-is-regressive-autism

Has your talkative, engaged, and very energetic child suddenly become quiet and uninterested? Does your child exhibit new, unusual habits? Have you noticed speech regression? If you answered yes, then he/she may have what’s called regressive autism. Based on data from the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), one in every 68 children […]

Continue reading