Tag Archives for " Language "

A Look at the Various Communication Disorders of Autism

A Look at the Various Communication Disorders of Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/look-various-communication-disorders-autism/

In the diagnosis of autism spectrum disorders (ASD), a key feature is persistent deficits in communication that are not because of other developmental delays. This means that for a child to be diagnosed with autism, his/her speech and language skills must be different from typical development, not merely delayed and like those of a younger […]

Continue reading

HELP: How Do I Stop My Son With Autism From Biting When He’s Angry?

HELP: How Do I Stop My Son With Autism From Biting When He's Angry? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/autism-son-biting-when-angry/

Dear Rob, My son used to bang his head but he has stopped. For the past two months, he has been pushing and biting children in the classroom for no reason. At home, he is trying to bite us when he gets angry about not getting what he wants. Please tell me why he is […]

Continue reading

How Music Can Help Those With ASD Cope With Anxiety

How Music Can Help Those With ASD Cope With Anxiety https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/music-help-asd-cope-anxiety/

Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD ) is a wide spectrum and one that can come in a whole range of severities. However, one thing that many people with ASD have is some form of anxiety, and that can be tough to deal with. Research has shown that music is able to help mental health quite substantially, […]

Continue reading

Making the Most of Spring Break With Autism

Making the Most of Spring Break With Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/making-spring-break-with-autism/

As the end of winter inches closer, just about everyone starts counting down the days until spring break, kids and parents alike. And while there’s excitement about the vacation from school, there are also some very valid reasons why parents of kids on the autism spectrum or with various sensory issues may also have some […]

Continue reading

HELP: My Child With Autism Curses and Has Tantrums

HELP: My Child With Autism Curses and Has Tantrums https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/autism-curses-and-has-tantrums/

Dear Rob, Hello I have a seven-year-old with autism and he has bad tantrums and curses. I’m a single mom, what can I do to stop this and help him grow out of it?  — Brissa Dear Brissa, Along with the many well-intentioned efforts to understand, manage and treat the special needs child, there have […]

Continue reading

From Chaos to Peace – Using Mindfulness in Special Education

From Chaos to Peace - Using Mindfulness in Special Education https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/using-mindfulness-in-special-education/

Close your eyes and imagine walking into a classroom and seeing what can only be explained as pure chaos. You can see students arguing with paraprofessionals, a student laying on the floor and kicking his feet while he yells,  a student sitting in the corner with his hood on (no doubt trying to cancel out […]

Continue reading

Innovative Autism-Friendly Jobs for the Holiday Season

Innovative Autism-Friendly Jobs for the Holiday Season https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/holiday-season-autism-friendly-jobs

“What do you want to be when you grow up?” For any child, especially those with autism, it’s never too early to explore their abilities and apply them to their interests. This holiday season provides the perfect opportunity for you to help your child begin to identify his or her unique talents needed for future […]

Continue reading

How to Talk With Children With Autism About Death and Grief

How to Talk With Children With Autism About Death and Grief https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/talk-about-death-and-grief/

When Benay Josselson’s husband, Steven, died suddenly at age 39, she knew she was entering uncharted territory. In the midst of dealing with her own devastating loss, she needed to help her young children, ages five and eight at the time, process the death of their father. Making matters more complicated, the older of the […]

Continue reading
>