Tag Archives for " Language "

Making the Most of Spring Break With Autism

Making the Most of Spring Break With Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/making-spring-break-with-autism/

As the end of winter inches closer, just about everyone starts counting down the days until spring break, kids and parents alike. And while there’s excitement about the vacation from school, there are also some very valid reasons why parents of kids on the autism spectrum or with various sensory issues may also have some […]

Continue reading

HELP: My Child With Autism Curses and Has Tantrums

HELP: My Child With Autism Curses and Has Tantrums https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/autism-curses-and-has-tantrums/

Dear Rob, Hello I have a seven-year-old with autism and he has bad tantrums and curses. I’m a single mom, what can I do to stop this and help him grow out of it?  — Brissa Dear Brissa, Along with the many well-intentioned efforts to understand, manage and treat the special needs child, there have […]

Continue reading

From Chaos to Peace – Using Mindfulness in Special Education

From Chaos to Peace - Using Mindfulness in Special Education https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/using-mindfulness-in-special-education/

Close your eyes and imagine walking into a classroom and seeing what can only be explained as pure chaos. You can see students arguing with paraprofessionals, a student laying on the floor and kicking his feet while he yells,  a student sitting in the corner with his hood on (no doubt trying to cancel out […]

Continue reading

Innovative Autism-Friendly Jobs for the Holiday Season

Innovative Autism-Friendly Jobs for the Holiday Season http://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/holiday-season-autism-friendly-jobs

“What do you want to be when you grow up?” For any child, especially those with autism, it’s never too early to explore their abilities and apply them to their interests. This holiday season provides the perfect opportunity for you to help your child begin to identify his or her unique talents needed for future […]

Continue reading

How to Talk With Children With Autism About Death and Grief

How to Talk With Children With Autism About Death and Grief https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/talk-about-death-and-grief/

When Benay Josselson’s husband, Steven, died suddenly at age 39, she knew she was entering uncharted territory. In the midst of dealing with her own devastating loss, she needed to help her young children, ages five and eight at the time, process the death of their father. Making matters more complicated, the older of the […]

Continue reading

Q&A HELP: My Non-Verbal Child Laughs After He Hits People

Q&A HELP: My Non-Verbal Child Laughs After He Hits People https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/child-laughs-after-hitting-people/

Question: My non-verbal four-year-old son started hitting people and himself and laughing. We thought he was just testing us, but the behavior has gotten worse over the past few months. We don’t know how to make him understand that he can’t do this. I think he’s frustrated because he can’t speak.—Christian Answer: This story is […]

Continue reading

How to Help Your Child With Autism Communicate Using Comics

How to Help Your Child With Autism Communicate Using Comics http://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/help-child-with-autism-communicate-using-comics

In all my years as a teacher and tutor, I have yet to see a frown or a tear shed by students in creating or reading comics. For those who work with children on the autism spectrum, the practice of creating comic strips with free comic generators like MakeBeliefsComix.com or even drawing them by hand […]

Continue reading

Easy Ways To Help Your Child Socialize Using Video Self-Modeling

Easy Ways To Help Your Child Socialize Using Video Self-Modeling http://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/help-your-child-socialize-using-video-self-modeling

Is saying hello or waving “hi” hard for your child to do? Does your child ask you questions about something you shared with him/her? Will your child ask another child to play? These may be some of the challenges your child with autism faces every day, and they impact the ability to make friends. Thankfully, […]

Continue reading