Tag Archives for " difficulties "

Help: My Child With Special Needs Struggles With Bowel Movements

Help: My Child With Special Needs Struggles With Bowel Movements https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/special-needs-struggles-bowel-movements/

Question: I have a nine-year-old who is not using the toilet to open his bowels. He can take himself to the toilet to urinate but is having constipation issues. He has been on a laxative for three weeks, and the continence nurse has encouraged us to put him back in nappies during this time. . […]

Continue reading

Help: How Do I Know If My ASD Child Has Memory Issues?

Help: How Do I Know If My ASD Child Has Memory Issues? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/autism-child-has-memory-issues/

For the purposes of IEP interventions, what is the best way to find out if your child has short term memory issues? What can cause this? I have read that it is associated with Asperger’s syndrome but what is the cause, i.e., auditory/ sensory processing, hyperfocus, petit mal, ADHD?  My son is highly distractive and has learning difficulties […]

Continue reading

Are IQ Tests Really Useful When Evaluating A Child With Autism?

Are IQ Tests Really Useful When Evaluating A Child With Autism? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/evaluating-a-child-with-autism/

Standardized cognitive testing is a complicated subject when it comes to assessing children with autism spectrum disorder (ASD). Their social, communication, sensory and behavior problems compound the difficulties in administering a standardized measure. The tests rely heavily on the subject’s language skills, ability to interact with others, motor planning and execution, and behavioral regulation. Typically, […]

Continue reading

How to Use Music As a Tool to Gain Attention With Autism

How to Use Music As a Tool to Gain Attention With Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/music-to-gain-attention-autism/

It is Thursday. I am about to meet a new child on the autism spectrum. My goal is to teach basic music skills and use these skills to build confidence, improve fine motor movement and prompt timely responses. To achieve this, I must capture the child’s attention. Brain function researchers have applied various definitions to […]

Continue reading

Where Does Cannabis Fit In With Autism Treatment?

Where Does Cannabis Fit In With Autism Treatment? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/cannabis-fit-with-autism-treatment/

Autism typically causes social difficulties and repetitive behaviors, as well as intellectual disabilities, and even physical symptoms like insomnia, irritability, hyperactivity and digestive troubles. Caregivers often turn to herbal substances or alternative medications to treat these types of symptoms. In fact, about 40 percent of families with children with autism or other developmental disorders turn to […]

Continue reading

An Exclusive Holiday Round-Up: The Special Ways Autism Families Celebrate the Holidays

An Exclusive Holiday Round-Up: The Special Ways Autism Families Celebrate the Holidays https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/autism-families-celebrate-the-holidays/

What does your holiday season look like? Does your family participate in a large family gathering far away, or do you prefer something quieter and more personal close to home? Are you relaxed during the festivities or do you spend the whole day stressed out wishing for a few minutes of calm and understanding? As […]

Continue reading

Sensory Integration and Special Needs in the Dental Office

Sensory Integration and Special Needs in the Dental Office https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/sensory-integration-in-dental-office/

Most people have some degree of aversion to the sensory-rich dental experience. The sights, sounds, smells, tastes, and metallic instruments are literally in our faces.  We can’t move or escape, while the dentist contorts our lips, sprays water while our mouths are open, and we try to breathe and communicate. It’s a challenge whether special […]

Continue reading

The Power of Embracing What I Don’t Know As an Autism Parent

The Power of Embracing What I Don’t Know As an Autism Parent http://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/embracing-autism-parent

I’m a reasonably intelligent man, but I know nothing. I’m simply a dad, only five years into my adventure as an autism parent, trying to learn and share my observations. That’s a good place to start if, like me, you want to be involved in healthy dialogues on autism. We can’t be clinging too tightly […]

Continue reading

Changing the Way We Celebrate Birthdays with Autism

Changing the Way We Celebrate Birthdays with Autism http://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/celebrate-birthdays-with-autism/

Birthdays can be hard for my family. My son has autism and with it comes difficulty connecting with others. He’s always wanted to play with other kids, but he lacked the social skills to navigate friendship and play. He doesn’t process things quickly enough due to a processing disorder, so when kids are asking him […]

Continue reading

Autism and ADHD: Do You Know How to Help with Co-Occurring Conditions?

Autism and ADHD: Do You Know How to Help with Co-Occurring Conditions? http://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/autism-adhd-co-occurring-conditions

Among school-age children, an estimated 11 percent are diagnosed with attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD).  What most parents, teachers, and school counselors may not realize is that children with ADHD may also manifest symptoms of autism spectrum disorder (ASD). Having two or more co-occurring diseases or disorders is defined as being comorbid or having comorbidities. […]

Continue reading