Tag Archives for " develop "

How to Use An ABA Approach to Advocate For Your Special Needs Child

How to Use An ABA Approach to Advocate For Your Special Needs Child https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/aba-approach-for-your-special-needs/

The Planning and Placement Team (PPT) room…it’s an intimidating scene for any parent to enter, stuffy with professionals defined by their never-ending acronyms: OT, PT, BCBA, SLP. Someone hands you your procedural safeguards, a maze of words defining your rights as a parent of a child with special needs.  On the table lies a stack […]

Continue reading

How to Improve Important Skills Through Special Accommodations at School

How to Improve Important Skills Through Special Accommodations at School https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/important-skills-through-special-accommodations/

Although students with autism spectrum disorders (ASD) vary greatly across multiple domains such as age, intellectual ability, social and communication development, degree of behavioral challenges and family support, there are some accommodations and procedures that are helpful to very many students with ASD as they attempt to maintain behavioral self-control and make progress in their […]

Continue reading

Former Model Shares Her Heart With the Special Needs Community

Former Model Shares Her Heart With the Special Needs Community https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/former-model-with-special-needs/

Autism Warrior: Karin Taylor, co-founder of Weisberg Family Foundation and owner of Weisberg Stables. One of Karin’s most celebrated programs is called Unbridled Power, a one-of-a-kind equine assisted learning horse therapy program that focuses on helping people with special needs, veterans, and children develop critical life skills. Equine assisted learning is an incredible learning approach that promotes […]

Continue reading

Top Ways Occupational Therapy Can Help Kids With Autism Every Day

Top Ways Occupational Therapy Can Help Kids With Autism Every Day https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/help-kids-with-autism-everyday/

There are many different methods of therapy that can be useful for helping children cope with the symptoms of autism. Since there are different types of autism and a wide variety of environments that autistic children may be raised in, it’s a good idea to figure out which type of therapy will best suit the […]

Continue reading

4 Practical Interventions to Help Develop Social Skills

4 Practical Interventions to Help Develop Social Skills http://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/practical-interventions-help-develop-social-skills

Social skills can be broadly defined as the ability to develop and maintain relationships. Deficits in social skills are a core feature for children, as well as adults with autism. For school-age children with high-functioning autism, limitations in social skills adversely impact conversation skills, peer acceptance, and self-perception. Available research indicates that children with autism […]

Continue reading

Sensory Enrichment Therapy: A New Approach

Sensory Enrichment Therapy: A New Approach http://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/sensory-enrichment-therapy-autism/

Children with autism often have sensory issues. They may be sensory seeking, or they may be sensory avoiding or even a little of both. For a child who is living with autism spectrum disorder (ASD), some textures can be very irritating. Sounds, crowds, lights or smells can upset them. Many sensory approaches already aim to […]

Continue reading