Tag Archives for " communicate "

HELP: How Do I Stop My Son With Autism From Biting When He’s Angry?

HELP: How Do I Stop My Son With Autism From Biting When He's Angry? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/autism-son-biting-when-angry/

Dear Rob, My son used to bang his head but he has stopped. For the past two months, he has been pushing and biting children in the classroom for no reason. At home, he is trying to bite us when he gets angry about not getting what he wants. Please tell me why he is […]

Continue reading

An Exclusive Look at AUTISM With Becky Schoenfeldt

An Exclusive Look at AUTISM With Becky Schoenfeldt https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/exclusive-look-autism-becky-schoenfeldt/

Encouragement Speaker Derrick Hayes gives an AUTISM Interview by asking six questions through each letter in the word AUTISM to give readers an insightful perspective from parents, experts, entrepreneurs and other leaders in the field. Today’s AUTISM Interview is with Becky Schoenfeldt who is an Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA) therapist with a child with autism. […]

Continue reading

Ways You Can Help First Responders Better Understand Autism

Ways You Can Help First Responders Better Understand Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/first-responders-better-understand-autism/

Chances are, if you’re reading this, you’re a parent. You know your child best: everything from his/her favorite foods, colors, toys, games, songs, movies, and outfits. Parents have a special way of knowing how to put a smile on their child’s face with ice cream treats, playground excursions, bike rides through the neighborhood and trips […]

Continue reading

Help: How Can I Stop a Child From Headbanging?

Help: How Can I Stop a Child From Headbanging? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/stop-a-child-from-headbanging/

Headbanging may be a scary and upsetting thing to watch your child do. It is considered a self-injurious behavior (SIB),  but SIB’s and/or headbanging are NOT considered a core symptom of autism, although children with autism are at greater risk of SIB’s such as head-banging. It is also important to note that just because your […]

Continue reading

How You Can Create a Climate Of High Expectations in the Classroom

How You Can Create a Climate Of High Expectations in the Classroom https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/high-expectations-in-the-classroom/

“He doesn’t talk much. He reads at a 1st grade level. We’re working on coloring and staying in the lines.” As a public school special education teacher nothing upset me more than statements like these. An incoming 6th grader, the student gained three years academic growth that year. By the end of 7th grade, he […]

Continue reading

Terrific Ways Theater Can Help Kids With Autism Communicate

Terrific Ways Theater Can Help Kids With Autism Communicate https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/help-kids-with-autism-communicate/

“The word theatre comes from the Greeks. It means the seeing place. It is the place people come to see the truth about life and the social situation. The theatre is a spiritual and social X-ray of its time.” — Stella Adler The truth is theater is just a mirror. We hold mirrors up to ourselves every day. We […]

Continue reading

Sensory Stress Busters During the Hectic Holiday Season

Sensory Stress Busters During the Hectic Holiday Season https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/stress-busters-during-holiday-season/

What a delight the holidays can be! Yet if you’re the parent of a child with sensory issues, making it a jolly holiday can be challenging. The stressors of unpredictable schedules, sudden transitions, and sensory input that disturbs your child are as plentiful as holiday lights this time of year. Naturally, we all try to […]

Continue reading

JP’s Law Passed To Protect All People With Special Needs

Hot Off the Press! JP’s Law Passed To Protect All People With Special Needs https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/protect-people-with-special-needs/

My 14-year-old son, JP, has autism. As I’m sure you can understand, while this wasn’t something I signed up for, I do believe God chose me and my husband, Perry, to be JP’s parents. Being JP’s mom has been an unexpected and wonderful experience. Through JP, I have become a member of the special needs community. […]

Continue reading

Autism and Comorbidities: How to Treat One While Treating the Other

Autism and Comorbidities: How to Treat One While Treating the Other https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/treat-one-while-treating-the-other/

Q&A with Matthew Fisher, MD, Medical Leader, Springbrook Autism Behavioral Health Psychiatric Residential Treatment Program and Outpatient Psychiatry Individuals with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) commonly experience other medical conditions or comorbidities that can sometimes mask or even exacerbate symptoms of autism. At the top of the list are psychiatric conditions, neurological issues, and even gastrointestinal […]

Continue reading

How to Build Social Skills for Life Using Minecraft

How to Build Social Skills for Life Using Minecraft https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/build-social-skills-using-minecraft/

Video games, social media, and technology are becoming an increasingly large part of our children’s lives. Digital play is now the most common type of play engaged in by younger children. Recent studies suggest that kids under the age of eight spend about 2.5 hours per day with screen media. For kids five and under, […]

Continue reading
1 2 3