Tag Archives for " children "

From Chaos to Peace – Using Mindfulness in Special Education

From Chaos to Peace - Using Mindfulness in Special Education https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/using-mindfulness-in-special-education/

Close your eyes and imagine walking into a classroom and seeing what can only be explained as pure chaos. You can see students arguing with paraprofessionals, a student laying on the floor and kicking his feet while he yells,  a student sitting in the corner with his hood on (no doubt trying to cancel out […]

Continue reading

Are IQ Tests Really Useful When Evaluating A Child With Autism?

Are IQ Tests Really Useful When Evaluating A Child With Autism? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/evaluating-a-child-with-autism/

Standardized cognitive testing is a complicated subject when it comes to assessing children with autism spectrum disorder (ASD). Their social, communication, sensory and behavior problems compound the difficulties in administering a standardized measure. The tests rely heavily on the subject’s language skills, ability to interact with others, motor planning and execution, and behavioral regulation. Typically, […]

Continue reading

The Most Supportive States for Raising a Child With Autism

The Most Supportive States for Raising a Child With Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/supportive-states-raising-autism-child/

Being a parent is challenging in its own right, and parenting a child with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) brings its own unique challenges. All parents want what’s best for their children, and it takes time, effort, and money to develop the whole child. However, navigating systems of support for children in the US can be […]

Continue reading

Where Does Cannabis Fit In With Autism Treatment?

Where Does Cannabis Fit In With Autism Treatment? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/cannabis-fit-with-autism-treatment/

Autism typically causes social difficulties and repetitive behaviors, as well as intellectual disabilities, and even physical symptoms like insomnia, irritability, hyperactivity and digestive troubles. Caregivers often turn to herbal substances or alternative medications to treat these types of symptoms. In fact, about 40 percent of families with children with autism or other developmental disorders turn to […]

Continue reading

An Exclusive Look at AUTISM With Belinda Lerner

An Exclusive Look at AUTISM With Belinda Lerner https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/exclusive-look-with-belinda-lerner/

Encouragement speaker Derrick Hayes gives an AUTISM interview by asking six questions through each letter in the word AUTISM to give readers insightful perspectives from parents, experts, entrepreneurs, and other leaders in the field. Today’s AUTISM Interview is with Belinda Lerner who is the Executive Director for the NFL Player Care Foundation and Vice President of NFL Alumni Affairs […]

Continue reading

Meet Richie Smith – A Remarkable Man With Big Ambitions

Meet Richie Smith - A Remarkable Man With Big Ambitions https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/remarkable-man-with-big-ambitions/

Richie Smith is a managing director of Awesometistic, a unique autism training business. Diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder at 33 years old, Richie’s goal is to generate autism understanding and acceptance wherever he goes. Can you share with me what life was like growing up without an official autism diagnosis? Growing up without a diagnosis […]

Continue reading

What Role Can Faith Play in Your Autism Journey?

What Role Can Faith Play in Your Autism Journey? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/faith-in-your-autism-journey/

Have you ever wondered what role faith plays in your autism journey? As a Christian, I can only speak from that perspective, but I am aware that other faiths may have insights on this topic as well. Our faith in God gives us hope in what otherwise would seem like a hopeless situation. Faith gives […]

Continue reading

Gender Identity: The Least of My Concerns

Gender Identity: The Least of My Concerns https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/the-least-of-my-concerns/

Last week I overheard my 5th grader, Olivia talking with her friend about not being a “girly-girl.” She asked if her friend noticed. Her friend said “yes.” Then Olivia asked her if she cared. So I asked myself, did I notice that Olivia wasn’t a “girly-girl?” Did I care?  If your child is expressing a non-binary […]

Continue reading

The Best Ways to Help People with Autism Manage Anxiety

The Best Ways to Help People with Autism Manage Anxiety https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/people-with-autism-manage-anxiety/

Many children with autism have higher rates of anxiety than their peers. Specifically, nearly 40 percent of children and adolescents with autism are estimated to have clinically significant anxiety or at least one anxiety disorder (Van Steensel et al. 2011). Anxiety is experienced when errors in thinking that include exaggerating threat or danger as well […]

Continue reading

Simple New App Manages the Care of Complex Disorders

Simple New App Manages the Care of Complex Disorders https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/app-manages-of-complex-disorders/

The diagnosis of autism and all neurodevelopmental-related conditions are based on subjective measures. And since these patients often share overlapping symptoms, clinicians and researchers agree many are often misdiagnosed. Parents of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) and related conditions are especially impacted by these challenges given the extensive overlap of medical conditions and the time factor […]

Continue reading
1 3 4 5 6 7 10
>