Tag Archives for " children "

Where Does Cannabis Fit In With Autism Treatment?

Where Does Cannabis Fit In With Autism Treatment? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/cannabis-fit-with-autism-treatment/

Autism typically causes social difficulties and repetitive behaviors, as well as intellectual disabilities, and even physical symptoms like insomnia, irritability, hyperactivity and digestive troubles. Caregivers often turn to herbal substances or alternative medications to treat these types of symptoms. In fact, about 40 percent of families with children with autism or other developmental disorders turn to […]

Continue reading

An Exclusive Look at AUTISM With Belinda Lerner

An Exclusive Look at AUTISM With Belinda Lerner https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/exclusive-look-with-belinda-lerner/

Encouragement speaker Derrick Hayes gives an AUTISM interview by asking six questions through each letter in the word AUTISM to give readers insightful perspectives from parents, experts, entrepreneurs, and other leaders in the field. Today’s AUTISM Interview is with Belinda Lerner who is the Executive Director for the NFL Player Care Foundation and Vice President of NFL Alumni Affairs […]

Continue reading

Meet Richie Smith – A Remarkable Man With Big Ambitions

Meet Richie Smith - A Remarkable Man With Big Ambitions https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/remarkable-man-with-big-ambitions/

Richie Smith is a managing director of Awesometistic, a unique autism training business. Diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder at 33 years old, Richie’s goal is to generate autism understanding and acceptance wherever he goes. Can you share with me what life was like growing up without an official autism diagnosis? Growing up without a diagnosis […]

Continue reading

What Role Can Faith Play in Your Autism Journey?

What Role Can Faith Play in Your Autism Journey? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/faith-in-your-autism-journey/

Have you ever wondered what role faith plays in your autism journey? As a Christian, I can only speak from that perspective, but I am aware that other faiths may have insights on this topic as well. Our faith in God gives us hope in what otherwise would seem like a hopeless situation. Faith gives […]

Continue reading

Gender Identity: The Least of My Concerns

Gender Identity: The Least of My Concerns https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/the-least-of-my-concerns/

Last week I overheard my 5th grader, Olivia talking with her friend about not being a “girly-girl.” She asked if her friend noticed. Her friend said “yes.” Then Olivia asked her if she cared. So I asked myself, did I notice that Olivia wasn’t a “girly-girl?” Did I care? If your child is expressing a […]

Continue reading

The Best Ways to Help People with Autism Manage Anxiety

The Best Ways to Help People with Autism Manage Anxiety https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/people-with-autism-manage-anxiety/

Many children with autism have higher rates of anxiety than their peers. Specifically, nearly 40 percent of children and adolescents with autism are estimated to have clinically significant anxiety or at least one anxiety disorder (Van Steensel et al. 2011). Anxiety is experienced when errors in thinking that include exaggerating threat or danger as well […]

Continue reading

Simple New App Manages the Care of Complex Disorders

Simple New App Manages the Care of Complex Disorders https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/app-manages-of-complex-disorders/

The diagnosis of autism and all neurodevelopmental-related conditions are based on subjective measures. And since these patients often share overlapping symptoms, clinicians and researchers agree many are often misdiagnosed. Parents of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) and related conditions are especially impacted by these challenges given the extensive overlap of medical conditions and the time factor […]

Continue reading

Top 10 Ways to Develop a Better Relationship With Your Aspie Teen

Top 10 Ways to Develop a Better Relationship With Your Aspie Teen https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/better-relationship-with-your-aspie/

As parents, we all want to have the best possible relationship with our children. Teen years can be particularly difficult, especially when your teen is on the spectrum. And no matter how much advice we get from the professionals, it is still hard to accept some of the behavioral traits of our Aspie teens. It […]

Continue reading

Ways You Can Help First Responders Better Understand Autism

Ways You Can Help First Responders Better Understand Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/first-responders-better-understand-autism/

Chances are, if you’re reading this, you’re a parent. You know your child best: everything from his/her favorite foods, colors, toys, games, songs, movies, and outfits. Parents have a special way of knowing how to put a smile on their child’s face with ice cream treats, playground excursions, bike rides through the neighborhood and trips […]

Continue reading

Three Amazing Ways Mindfulness Can Impact Special Needs Parenting

Three Amazing Ways Mindfulness Can Impact Special Needs Parenting https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/mindfulness-can-impact-special-needs/

Before you shrug off mindfulness as a trendy buzzword found on supermarket tabloids or at a local yoga studio, hear me out.  Mindful parenting is not complicated, nor is it something that you have to make time for; it is simply about being present. It’s an evidence-based practice that works. It’s about stopping and noticing […]

Continue reading
1 2 3 6