Tag Archives for " changes "

Being Prepared With ASD: My Son is Contagious

Being Prepared With ASD: My Son is Contagious https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/being-prepared-with-asd/

Where are we going? What time do we have to be there? Who is going to be there? How long are we staying? I interrogated my husband like we were going on a covert mission where our watches needed to be synchronized, maps labeled, and code words would be expected. It was just a simple […]

Continue reading

What Happens to My Special Needs Child if the Social Security Benefit Goes Away?

What Happens to My Special Needs Child if the Social Security Benefit Goes Away? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/special-needs-social-security-benefit/

Question:  I heard a report that stated the Social Security trust fund will be extinguished by 2034. Is that true, and if so how does that impact the plan for my adult son with autism? By law, Social Security OASDI trust funds must be able to pay benefits for at least the next 75 years.  […]

Continue reading

Behavior Support Strategies for Children With Autism

Behavior Support Strategies for Children With Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/behavior-support-strategies-children-autism/

Because autism comes with neurological differences, it is almost certain that these children will have difficulty with conventional behavior expectations. Among the common characteristics of autism which often lead to behavioral conflicts, are the following: Significant, atypical difficulties with understanding and using language. This is especially demanding in group situations where several people are conversing, […]

Continue reading

How To Find Balance, Meaning, and Joy Through Autism

How To Find Balance, Meaning, and Joy Through Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/find-balance-meaning-joy-autism/

My son, “Pookie” is 16 years old, nonverbal, and very severe on the spectrum of autism. He is the absolute light of our lives, and contrary to what outsiders may think, we have not been shortchanged on jot…we are the lucky ones; the ones to be envied. Here are a few of the ways that […]

Continue reading

10 Behavior Analytic Steps to Forgiveness You Need to Know

10 Behavior Analytic Steps to Forgiveness You Need to Know https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/behavior-analytic-forgiveness-to-know/

What constitutes forgiveness and the best pathway to achieving it is one of the most debated topics around. Some argue that in order to forgive, one must forget past transgressions and “take the high road” or “be the bigger person.” Others claim that forgiveness sets you free. What does all this mean and which philosophy […]

Continue reading

Noah’s Voice: Non-Speaking Man Advocates for Big Changes

Noah’s Voice: Non-Speaking Man Advocates for Big Changes https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/noah-voice-man-advocates-changes/

Nadine and David Seback are the parents of an amazing 20-year-old young man on the autism spectrum named Noah. He is nonverbal but has learned along with his parents to point to letters on a letter board to communicate, so he now is a strong advocate for nonverbal individuals on the spectrum.   I met […]

Continue reading

From Chaos to Peace – Using Mindfulness in Special Education

From Chaos to Peace - Using Mindfulness in Special Education https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/using-mindfulness-in-special-education/

Close your eyes and imagine walking into a classroom and seeing what can only be explained as pure chaos. You can see students arguing with paraprofessionals, a student laying on the floor and kicking his feet while he yells,  a student sitting in the corner with his hood on (no doubt trying to cancel out […]

Continue reading

Reaching Your Special Needs Financial Goals in the New Year

Reaching Your Special Needs Financial Goals in the New Year https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/reaching-special-needs-financial-goals/

As 2019 begins, it arrives with optimism and excitement to start fresh, set goals, create action plans, and work to accomplish those goals. For so many of us, we begin the year with such great intentions, but we don’t always end the year reaching the goals that we set. Why is that the case? Ciara […]

Continue reading

Top Advice on Surviving the Tween and Teen Years With Autism

Top Advice on Surviving the Tween and Teen Years With Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/surviving-tween-and-teen-years/

Hi, my name is Leanne. I’m from Upstate New York and have Asperger’s syndrome. As we all know, the tween and teen years are rough for most people. However, for people on the autism spectrum, this time in life can be especially hard, and can bring on some unique challenges. People with autism go through […]

Continue reading

Improving Lifestyles and Planning for Tomorrow with Special Needs

Improving Lifestyles and Planning for Tomorrow with Special Needs https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/improving-and-planning-for-tomorrow/

All parents want their children to live wonderful lives, and they do all they can to make that a reality.  As your child with autism becomes an adult, that journey can become more and more challenging. It can become difficult to find services, to find a primary care provider who understands your adult child’s needs, […]

Continue reading