Tag Archives for " changes "

How Cats Can Help Children With Autism Become More Social

How Cats Can Help Children With Autism Become More Social https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/cats-help-children-with-autism/

Cats are lovable and cute, but what most people don’t know is that these furry animals can help children with autism improve their social skills. Cats bond with the children by providing affection and attention which promotes healthy relationships. Parents with children who have autism spectrum disorder (ASD) might not want to get their child […]

Continue reading

How to Create the Dream Team for Your Autistic Child

How to Create the Dream Team for Your Autistic Child https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/dream-team-for-autistic-child/

You won’t be able to build a dream team, even in a city rich in services if you don’t first identify what you and your child need, and that is difficult because you probably don’t know all that is out there, and what you need often changes.  Look to your child for guidance. Once you […]

Continue reading

How Can Sensory Deficits Impact Communication With ASD?

How Can Sensory Deficits Impact Communication With ASD? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/sensory-deficits-communication-with-asd/

As we all learned in elementary school, there are five basic senses that we use to process the world around us; touch, hearing, vision, smell, and taste.  Our sense organs (e.g., eyes, nose, etc.) receive information from the environment and relay that information to the brain for interpretation. Throughout the day, each of us processes […]

Continue reading

The Amazing Ways Equine Therapy Can Change a Child’s Life

The Amazing Ways Equine Therapy Can Change a Child's Life https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/equine-therapy-change-childs-life/

“Mommy, you purple!” The little girl’s big brown eyes were wide with joy as she said the first phrase she had ever spoken. Up to this point, the young girl expressed her “special language” and ironically colors. Today was the first time in her short life of yearning to communicate she was able to utter […]

Continue reading

Being Prepared With ASD: My Son is Contagious

Being Prepared With ASD: My Son is Contagious https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/being-prepared-with-asd/

Where are we going? What time do we have to be there? Who is going to be there? How long are we staying? I interrogated my husband like we were going on a covert mission where our watches needed to be synchronized, maps labeled, and code words would be expected. It was just a simple […]

Continue reading

What Happens to My Special Needs Child if the Social Security Benefit Goes Away?

What Happens to My Special Needs Child if the Social Security Benefit Goes Away? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/special-needs-social-security-benefit/

Question:  I heard a report that stated the Social Security trust fund will be extinguished by 2034. Is that true, and if so how does that impact the plan for my adult son with autism? By law, Social Security OASDI trust funds must be able to pay benefits for at least the next 75 years.  […]

Continue reading

Behavior Support Strategies for Children With Autism

Behavior Support Strategies for Children With Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/behavior-support-strategies-children-autism/

Because autism comes with neurological differences, it is almost certain that these children will have difficulty with conventional behavior expectations. Among the common characteristics of autism which often lead to behavioral conflicts, are the following: Significant, atypical difficulties with understanding and using language. This is especially demanding in group situations where several people are conversing, […]

Continue reading

How To Find Balance, Meaning, and Joy Through Autism

How To Find Balance, Meaning, and Joy Through Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/find-balance-meaning-joy-autism/

My son, “Pookie” is 16 years old, nonverbal, and very severe on the spectrum of autism. He is the absolute light of our lives, and contrary to what outsiders may think, we have not been shortchanged on jot…we are the lucky ones; the ones to be envied. Here are a few of the ways that […]

Continue reading

10 Behavior Analytic Steps to Forgiveness You Need to Know

10 Behavior Analytic Steps to Forgiveness You Need to Know https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/behavior-analytic-forgiveness-to-know/

What constitutes forgiveness and the best pathway to achieving it is one of the most debated topics around. Some argue that in order to forgive, one must forget past transgressions and “take the high road” or “be the bigger person.” Others claim that forgiveness sets you free. What does all this mean and which philosophy […]

Continue reading

Noah’s Voice: Non-Speaking Man Advocates for Big Changes

Noah’s Voice: Non-Speaking Man Advocates for Big Changes https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/noah-voice-man-advocates-changes/

Nadine and David Seback are the parents of an amazing 20-year-old young man on the autism spectrum named Noah. He is nonverbal but has learned along with his parents to point to letters on a letter board to communicate, so he now is a strong advocate for nonverbal individuals on the spectrum.   I met […]

Continue reading
>