Tag Archives for " challenges "

Preparing for the Social Transition to Adulthood With Special Needs

Preparing for the Social Transition to Adulthood With Special Needs https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/preparing-social-transition-with-special-needs/

Perhaps the single greatest, and most frightening moment of a parent’s life is the birth of a child. As you stare in the innocent and precious eyes of your newborn, the gravity of the task of being a parent falls squarely upon your shoulders. No book is given to you that has all the answers […]

Continue reading

The Value of Nurturing Your Special Needs Child’s Hidden Talent

The Value of Nurturing Your Special Needs Child's Hidden Talent https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/special-need-child-hidden-talent/

Our son, Himal, was only two years old when he was diagnosed with profound, non-verbal autism. Fifteen years later, despite all the unknowns and challenges ahead, we have never felt more hopeful about his future. As the parent of a child with autism spectrum disorder (ASD), do you feel genuinely optimistic about your child’s future? […]

Continue reading

Beaches Turks and Caicos: Paradise for Special Needs Families

Beaches Turks and Caicos: Paradise for Special Needs Families https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/paradise-for-special-needs-families/

One wouldn’t think you need superior negotiating skills to plan a family vacation, but that’s the case when dealing with my husband. I suggest beautiful vacation destinations, with hotels that offer childcare services, only to hear “No way!” And why is that? Because Lorenzo, our non-verbal, young adult son has autism and according to Tony, […]

Continue reading

The Value of Confidence With Asperger’s Syndrome

The Value of Confidence With Asperger’s Syndrome https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/value-of-confidence-with-aspergers/

During the summer of 2005, I was diagnosed with Asperger’s syndrome. I heard about this condition for the first time from my psychologist when he was telling me who I was more so than anyone ever had before. But I didn’t take it seriously. After all, I was 21 years old at the time, I […]

Continue reading

How to Prepare Now for a Successful IEP for Your Child

How to Prepare Now for a Successful IEP for Your Child https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/preparation-successful-iep-for-child/

Planning your child’s Individualized Education Program (IEP) can be very stressful for parents.  What often causes the most stress having to sit through very long meetings and listen to educators tell you what your child can’t do, instead of focusing on what your child will be doing for the next year. This process can often […]

Continue reading

Employment Matters…Especially for Those on the Spectrum

Employment Matters…Especially for Those on the Spectrum https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/employment-matters-especially-for-spectrum/

The job of “raising” a son or daughter significantly impacted by autism spectrum disorder (ASD) does not come to an end when your child reaches the age of majority. It just shifts to a new realm. Indeed, adulthood brings significant new worries and new challenges. Vital concerns for parents of emerging adult children with ASD […]

Continue reading

How to Build the Road to Independence With Autism

How to Build the Road to Independence With Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/build-road-independence-with-autism/

From the moment a student is placed in an educational program, the school should be thinking about how it’s preparing him/her to travel the road to independence. While there is a wide range of cognitive, motor and communication abilities among students on the autism spectrum, they all are on the road to acquire as much […]

Continue reading

The Remarkable Ways Sensory Gardens Can Help People With Autism

The Remarkable Ways Sensory Gardens Can Help People With Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/sensory-gardens-can-help-autism/

Experiencing nature improves physical, sensory, social, and emotional health and wellbeing and a garden is an ideal space to engage with nature. While research has and continues to demonstrate these benefits, little has looked at the impact on individuals with autism spectrum disorder (ASD). In time, we hope to fill the void and conduct some […]

Continue reading

A Parent’s Love Knows No Bounds

A Parent's Love Knows No Bounds https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/parents-love-knows-no-bounds/

A parent’s love is a special love. It is not about approval or accomplishment. It is about unconditional support and concern. It’s a love born in joy, nurtured during adversity and reconfirmed on a daily and hourly basis. It’s a love bound up in anxiety and expectation. Often worry and concern can creep in as […]

Continue reading

Simple Ways to Help a Child With Autism Master Math

Simple Ways to Help a Child With Autism Master Math https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/simple-ways-autism-master-math/

Which school subject has led to more parental gray hairs than all other subjects combined? It’s not too hard to guess that the answer is math. Math can be a struggle for any child, but students with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) often encounter some unique challenges where math is concerned. Now that it’s summertime, it […]

Continue reading
1 2 3 7
>