Tag Archives for " autistic children "

The Pros and Cons of Screen Time for Kids with ASD

The Pros and Cons of Screen Time for Kids with ASD https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/screen-time-kids-with-asd/

Children with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) often face difficulty in understanding and navigating the world around them. A slight trigger can cause children who have ASD to become hyperactive. Furthermore, autistic children are prone to repeating specific patterns of behavior, which makes it difficult to interact with others. This is why digital devices provide an […]

Continue reading

Amazing New Web Series Captures the Challenges of Autism

Amazing New Web Series Captures the Challenges of Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/web-series-captures-challenges-autism/

The web series Oh Jordan follows the Spinola family as they navigate the extra twists and turns their child with autism, Jordan, brings to their lives. Each five-minute episode focuses on a different aspect, ranging from an explosive family gathering to a therapy session for the entire family. More than just simply following Jordan as […]

Continue reading

Terrific Tips for Surviving Theme Parks When a Child Has Special Needs

Terrific Tips for Surviving Theme Parks When a Child Has Special Needs https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/tips-parks-child-special-needs/

Ah, theme parks! Whether it’s Disney World, Universal Studios, or some manifestation of National Lampoon’s Walley World, theme parks are a family vacation hot-spot. But when your child has special needs the crowds, noise, and lines may make this kind of destination seem off limits. Growing up with a younger sister who has severe autism, […]

Continue reading

New Comic Book Character With Autism Inspires Kindness

New Comic Book Character With Autism Inspires Kindness https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/comic-character-autism-inspires-kindness/

Isolation and engagement are two things on my heart and mind.  I was a teacher for 25 years in a school that had a program for Autistic children.  The children enrolled in the program at a very young age.  One of the program’s goals was to thoughtfully integrate the Autistic children into the school’s academic […]

Continue reading

Motherhood: Finding Their Joy…and Yours

Motherhood: Finding Their Joy…and Yours https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/motherhood-finding-their-joy-yours/

My mother always told me, “Motherhood is not for wimps.” No truer words can be spoken for any parent of a child on the spectrum. What keeps us going are the day to day and sometimes the moment to moment joys. As parents, watching our autistic children succeed or be valued for their contribution to […]

Continue reading

The Cruel Double-Standard Behind Autism and Access

The Cruel Double-Standard Behind Autism and Access https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/standard-behind-autism-and-access/

Recently, The Washington Post published my opinion piece My Son Has Autism. He Deserves Separate Sensory-Friendly Opportunities which focused on why sensory-friendly (SF) opportunities should be the law of the land. The swift rise of vitriol alerted me to ways in which message being misconstrued on many sides, even by select parents who themselves have […]

Continue reading

Ways the Forest School Approach Can Help Kids With Autism Grow

Ways the Forest School Approach Can Help Kids With Autism Grow https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/help-kids-with-autism-grow/

What is Forest School? Forest School is a type of outdoor education which takes place in natural spaces and encourages participants to develop personal, social and practical skills. The concept of Forest School was brought to the United Kingdom by a group of early years practitioners from Bridgwater College who visited Denmark and returned enthused […]

Continue reading

Create an Amazing Sensory Room On a Budget

Create an Amazing Sensory Room On a Budget https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/create-an-amazing-sensory-room/

Hello, my fellow sensory seeking moms and dads! Let me start by introducing myself. I am the mother of two young autistic children who require TONS of sensory input to stay regulated throughout the day. Over the years, I have experimented with what works well for them and what brings on the no-good -very-bad meltdowns! […]

Continue reading

Ways Implementing Three-Term Contingency Can Help

Ways Implementing Three-Term Contingency Can Help https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/ways-implementing-three-term-contingency/

We all want to understand why our children behave the way they do. Sometimes we wish to encourage alternative behavior—other times we hope to encourage more of the same behavior. For example, a mother may wish for her child to desist from throwing tantrums in public places. Another mother may be so delighted to hear […]

Continue reading

The Wonders and Benefits of Art for Children With Autism

The Wonders and Benefits of Art for Children With Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/art-for-children-with-autism/

The experience of expressing one’s self through art has widely been practiced as a form of therapy, as it’s no surprise that art brings a sense of calmness and serenity. This type of therapy is known as ‘art therapy,’ and it is a treatment widely used by therapists in meeting the challenges often faced by […]

Continue reading