Tag Archives for " autism spectrum disorder "

How You Can Create a Climate Of High Expectations in the Classroom

How You Can Create a Climate Of High Expectations in the Classroom https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/high-expectations-in-the-classroom/

“He doesn’t talk much. He reads at a 1st grade level. We’re working on coloring and staying in the lines.” As a public school special education teacher nothing upset me more than statements like these. An incoming 6th grader, the student gained three years academic growth that year. By the end of 7th grade, he […]

Continue reading

Terrific Ways Theater Can Help Kids With Autism Communicate

Terrific Ways Theater Can Help Kids With Autism Communicate https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/help-kids-with-autism-communicate/

“The word theatre comes from the Greeks. It means the seeing place. It is the place people come to see the truth about life and the social situation. The theatre is a spiritual and social X-ray of its time.” — Stella Adler The truth is theater is just a mirror. We hold mirrors up to ourselves every day. We […]

Continue reading

Ways ABA Therapy Can Help Improve Skills For Life

Ways ABA Therapy Can Help Improve Skills For Life https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/ways-aba-therapy-improve-skills/

Learning that your child has been diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) can be very difficult for family members. One of the most important things to remember is that your child is still the same child that he/she was prior to the diagnosis.  As you learn about ASD and begin to use resources and find […]

Continue reading

When ASD Children Become Easy Prey For Bullies

When ASD Children Become Easy Prey For Bullies https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/asd-children-easy-for-bullies/

Bullying is an issue for all adolescents and teens, but none more so than those on the autism spectrum who often experience abusive and antagonistic behavior from peers nearly half of the time. That’s about twice as often as bullying experienced by average adolescents, according to the National Bullying Prevention Center. Autism spectrum disorders (ASD) […]

Continue reading

The Value of the Personal Trainer

The Value of the Personal Trainer https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/value-of-the-personal-trainer/

On the pathway to adopting a healthy lifestyle, the exercise experience contains valuable opportunities for individuals with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) to practice adaptive communication and socialization skills. To ensure a safe, enjoyable fitness experience, parents and caregivers may consider accessing the services of a certified personal trainer (CPT). Depending upon the individual’s level of […]

Continue reading

The Wonders and Benefits of Art for Children With Autism

The Wonders and Benefits of Art for Children With Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/art-for-children-with-autism/

The experience of expressing one’s self through art has widely been practiced as a form of therapy, as it’s no surprise that art brings a sense of calmness and serenity. This type of therapy is known as ‘art therapy,’ and it is a treatment widely used by therapists in meeting the challenges often faced by […]

Continue reading