Tag Archives for " ABA "

Autism Medication Guide: Treating Autism and Its Core Symptoms

Autism Medication Guide: Treating Autism and Its Core Symptoms https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/autism-medication-treating-core-symptoms

While the first clinical account of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) was published more than 75 years ago by child psychiatrist Leo Kanner, the precise cause of autism is still not clear to scientists. Billions of dollars have been spent on autism research over the years in an attempt to unravel the mystery that now affects […]

Continue reading

Autism Therapies and Treatments You Need to Know

Autism Therapies and Treatments You Need to Know http://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/best-autism-therapies-and-treatments

The Ultimate Guide to Autism Therapies and Solutions Finding the best method for treating autism is often a challenge for the loved ones of children and adults with autism spectrum disorder (ASD).  Because no two people with ASD are exactly the same, it’s vital to choose a method of treatment and therapy and an intervention […]

Continue reading

Parental ABA Can Make All the Difference in the World

Parental ABA Can Make All the Difference in the World http://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/parental-aba-autism/

He began to flap as the speech therapist cleaned the room dry of anything that would distract the little boy. Then she began her session, today’s lesson: pronouns.  She began to struggle.  She showed him stick figures pointing to themselves and pointing to other people. “My redshirt,” she repeated to him. He stared at her, […]

Continue reading

Best Ways to Manage Hyperlexia and Hypernumeracy with Autism

Best Ways to Manage Hyperlexia and Hypernumeracy with Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/manage-hyperlexia-hypernumeracy-autism

For several years I’ve worked with children with autism spectrum disorder (ASD). When my son was diagnosed as being on the spectrum, I became a mother in denial. I knew that there was something else or something more to him and his challenges. I began researching and eventually I came across an article written by […]

Continue reading

Issue 73 – Amazing Ways To Support Autism

Buy Single Issue Subscribe today and save 50% Features: Easy Ways to Help Your Child Socialize Using Video Self-Modeling Learn simple ways to teach social skills using an innovative tool known as Video Self-Modeling. Melissa M. Root, PhD Special Needs and Safety: Ways To Keep Kids Protected Follow a three-step approach to preventing accidents or […]

Continue reading

Issue 72 – Sensory Solutions For Life

Autism Parenting Magazine Issue 71 - Navigating A New Year http://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/issue-71-navigating-a-new-year/

  Buy Single Issue Subscribe today and save 50% Features: Top Strategies To Enhance Your Child’s Capacity For Self Love A parent coach provides two exciting activities to help encourage self-love. Connie Hammer, MSW, PCI Certified Parent Coach® Autism and ADHD: Do You Know How To Help With Co-occurring Conditions? Learn both the differences and […]

Continue reading

Autism and the Benefits of Early Intervention

Autism and the Benefits of Early Intervention https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/autism-early-intervention-benefits

According to the Centers for Disease Control (CDC), a rising percentage of the world population is being diagnosed with an autism spectrum disorder (ASD). As of 2014, an estimated 1 percent of the world population had an ASD, with the United States estimating 1 in 68 children or 3.5 million Americans living with ASD.   […]

Continue reading

Regressive Autism – Why It Occurs

What is Regressive Autism? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/what-is-regressive-autism

Has your talkative, engaged, and very energetic child suddenly become quiet and uninterested? Does your child exhibit new, unusual habits? If you answered yes, then, he/she may have what’s called regressive autism. Based on data from the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), one in every 68 children in the US has autism, […]

Continue reading

Free Expert Incentive Charts Can Boost Behavioral Change

Free Expert Incentive Charts Can Boost Behavioral Change http://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/boost-behavioral-change/

Most of us are familiar with reward or incentive charts. Maybe we first came across them as a child, hoping to receive a star for our chart on the kitchen fridge. Or perhaps we learned about them when studying to be a teacher. Whether you call them sticker charts, star charts, or behavior modification or […]

Continue reading