Tag Archives for " ABA therapy "

Is an ABA Center the Right Option for Your Child on the Autism Spectrum?

Is an ABA Center the Right Option for Your Child on the Autism Spectrum? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/right-option-for-your-child/

It’s no secret that autism diagnoses of children are growing. In a new study just published in the journal Pediatrics, one in 40 children has autism spectrum disorder, and according to the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, diagnoses of boys outnumber girls nearly four to one (1/37 boys versus 1/151 girls). While there is […]

Continue reading

How to Teach ABA Without Making Your Child a Robot

How to Teach ABA Without Making Your Child a Robot https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/teach-without-making-child-robot/

His life was a routine. His life was a schedule. His life stepped. His day-to-day life was chronological. We evolve into the militant enforcers of a strict routine, a strict schedule, the strict followers of chronological order, and we do not delve from that line. Yet, in the physics of constant movement, in the physics […]

Continue reading

HELP: How Do I Stop My Son With Autism From Biting When He’s Angry?

HELP: How Do I Stop My Son With Autism From Biting When He's Angry? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/autism-son-biting-when-angry/

Dear Rob, My son used to bang his head but he has stopped. For the past two months, he has been pushing and biting children in the classroom for no reason. At home, he is trying to bite us when he gets angry about not getting what he wants. Please tell me why he is […]

Continue reading

Are Charter Schools A Good Option For Kids With Special Needs?

Are Charter Schools A Good Option For Kids With Special Needs? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/option-for-kids-with-autism/

Most parents of children with autism are actively and constantly seeking ways to help their children better. Not necessarily to “cure” them, but to help them better function in life and live it to the fullest. We spend a lot of time researching. We spend a lot of time at doctors’ offices, therapies, and Individualized […]

Continue reading

After the Autism Diagnosis: What Should I Do?

After the Autism Diagnosis: What Should I Do? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/autism-diagnosis-what-to-do/

A friend’s child was recently diagnosed with autism and she reached out with some questions for me. “What would I do differently after getting the diagnosis that my son had autism, knowing what I know now?” And, “What did I recommend doing now that they had a diagnosis of autism for their child?” My sister […]

Continue reading

Terrific Ways Theater Can Help Kids With Autism Communicate

Terrific Ways Theater Can Help Kids With Autism Communicate https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/help-kids-with-autism-communicate/

“The word theatre comes from the Greeks. It means the seeing place. It is the place people come to see the truth about life and the social situation. The theatre is a spiritual and social X-ray of its time.” — Stella Adler The truth is theater is just a mirror. We hold mirrors up to ourselves every day. We […]

Continue reading

How to Use An ABA Approach to Advocate For Your Special Needs Child

How to Use An ABA Approach to Advocate For Your Special Needs Child https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/aba-approach-for-your-special-needs/

The Planning and Placement Team (PPT) room…it’s an intimidating scene for any parent to enter, stuffy with professionals defined by their never-ending acronyms: OT, PT, BCBA, SLP. Someone hands you your procedural safeguards, a maze of words defining your rights as a parent of a child with special needs.  On the table lies a stack […]

Continue reading

Ways ABA Therapy Can Help Improve Skills For Life

Ways ABA Therapy Can Help Improve Skills For Life https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/ways-aba-therapy-improve-skills/

Learning that your child has been diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) can be very difficult for family members. One of the most important things to remember is that your child is still the same child that he/she was prior to the diagnosis.  As you learn about ASD and begin to use resources and find […]

Continue reading

What My Brother With Autism Taught Me About Special Needs

What My Brother With Autism Taught Me About Special Needs https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/brother-with-autism-teaches-me/

When I was 10, my two-year-old brother was diagnosed on the autism spectrum. He was nonverbal for much of his early life, unable to read or communicate effectively. He struggled to exhibit and mimic behavior that was expected of him from society, and would often find himself striking his head because of overstimulation from the […]

Continue reading

5 Great Tips for First Time ABA Therapy

5 Great Tips for First Time ABA Therapy https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/first-time-aba-therapy-tips/

As parents, we are usually the first to discover if our child has autism, a behavioral problem, or a learning disability. We do our very best to help our child overcome whatever he/she is going through but sometimes we just need help. Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA) therapy is a great resource that could help kids […]

Continue reading