Category Archives for "Autism Articles"

Top autism articles previously published in Autism Parenting Magazine that focus on issues that affect people with autism, including Asperger’s syndrome. Articles include best ways to master skills and find everyday solutions.

How to Use Sensory Play to Improve Learning and Expand the Imagination

How to Use Sensory Play to Improve Learning and Expand the Imagination https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/improve-learning-and-expand-imagination/

Imagination is so much important. If you were to imagine dragons, dinosaurs, and without imagination, learning would be colorless and finite. For many parents, the main goal is to lead a child towards independent living and academics skills; after all, learning is the first step into the world. Being a special needs parent is demanding, […]

Continue reading

The Amazing Ways Nature Helped Me Reconnect With My Son

The Amazing Ways Nature Helped Me Reconnect With My Son https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/amazing-ways-nature-helped-me/

I have always been at odds with the world. I had my first counselor at age 15. My first breakdown in my mid- to late-twenties. Then again 10 years later. At the age of 36, I had a baby with my long-term partner. I was not prepared for the vast confusion a birth precipitates. The […]

Continue reading

Mom Shares What Life Is Like for an Autism Sibling

Mom Shares What Life Is Like for an Autism Sibling https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/mom-shares-what-life-is/

My girl is 15. She is curious. She has always loved to learn. Always asked questions. She is interested in life. She is a reader. She is a gymnast and a musician. She has a red belt in karate. She’s never been afraid to try things. Or maybe she has, but it doesn’t stop her. […]

Continue reading

High Functioning Autism and Other Types of Autism

High Functioning Autism and Other Types of Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/high-functioning-autism-other-types-of-autism

What is autism? Autism spectrum disorder (ASD) is a broad term used to describe a grouping of neurodevelopmental disorders. It can often affect a person’s way of interacting with others. People with autism often experience the world differently than their neurotypical peers.  While the term autism covers a broad spectrum of symptoms, it is typically […]

Continue reading

Neurodiversity, You’re Forgetting Someone Important

Neurodiversity, You’re Forgetting Someone Important https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/neurodiversity-youre-forgetting-someone-important/

What Is Neurodiversity? Neurodiversity, short for neurological diversity, is the idea that diversity in human behavior and thought is the result of normal variability. The implication of neurodiversity is that people who are neurologically different from most of the population, such as individuals with autism, should be celebrated, not ignored or taught to be “normal.” […]

Continue reading

Understanding Autism: I See You Now

Understanding Autism: I See You Now https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/understanding-autism-i-see-you/

He gazed at me through unblinking, dark marbles of rage. The eyes were cold, but his face was red hot …a volcano! Memories of a volcano ripping through the earth’s crust crept into the corner of my mind, as the rest of my brain struggled to understand what was happening. Mum once told me that […]

Continue reading

HELP: My Child With Autism Curses and Has Tantrums

HELP: My Child With Autism Curses and Has Tantrums https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/autism-curses-and-has-tantrums/

Dear Rob, Hello I have a seven-year-old with autism and he has bad tantrums and curses. I’m a single mom, what can I do to stop this and help him grow out of it?  — Brissa Dear Brissa, Along with the many well-intentioned efforts to understand, manage and treat the special needs child, there have […]

Continue reading

From Chaos to Peace – Using Mindfulness in Special Education

From Chaos to Peace - Using Mindfulness in Special Education https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/using-mindfulness-in-special-education/

Close your eyes and imagine walking into a classroom and seeing what can only be explained as pure chaos. You can see students arguing with paraprofessionals, a student laying on the floor and kicking his feet while he yells,  a student sitting in the corner with his hood on (no doubt trying to cancel out […]

Continue reading

Understanding Gender Dysphoria With an Autism Diagnosis

Understanding Gender Dysphoria With an Autism Diagnosis https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/gender-dysphoria-with-autism-diagnosis/

Although the field of study is relatively new, the incidence of gender dysphoria is identified at higher rates in individuals with autism Anna Laakman spectrum disorder (ASD). Gender dysphoria is a clinical term used to define the incongruence between gender identity and biological sex. Many who experience gender dysphoria identify as transgender, non-binary, or gender […]

Continue reading

Are IQ Tests Really Useful When Evaluating A Child With Autism?

Are IQ Tests Really Useful When Evaluating A Child With Autism? https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/evaluating-a-child-with-autism/

Standardized cognitive testing is a complicated subject when it comes to assessing children with autism spectrum disorder (ASD). Their social, communication, sensory and behavior problems compound the difficulties in administering a standardized measure. The tests rely heavily on the subject’s language skills, ability to interact with others, motor planning and execution, and behavioral regulation. Typically, […]

Continue reading