Category Archives for "Autism Articles"

Top autism articles previously published in Autism Parenting Magazine that focus on issues that affect people with autism, including Asperger’s syndrome. Articles include best ways to master skills and find everyday solutions.

Lifesaving Lockdown Safety Tips Every Family Needs to Know

Lifesaving Lockdown Safety Tips Every Family Needs to Know https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/lifesaving-safety-tips-family-know/

According to a recent Washington Post analysis*, over 4.1 million children endured a school lockdown during the 2017-2018 school year. More than 1 million of these children were in elementary school, with over 220,000 in preschool and kindergarten. The analysis further reveals that, on a typical school day last year, at least 16 campuses somewhere […]

Continue reading

3 Simple Tips For Implementing AAC for Better Connections

3 Simple Tips For Implementing AAC for Better Connections https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/simple-tips-implementing-better-connections/

Augmentative-alternative communication has become more available to families as both they and schools access iOS technology and apps. But, sadly, what is not readily available is the knowledge of how best to teach their children how to use these systems to communicate. It’s a myth that you can give a child an AAC system, whether […]

Continue reading

The Struggles of a Teenage Girl With a Late Autism Diagnosis

The Struggles of a Teenage Girl With a Late Autism Diagnosis https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/struggles-teenage-girl-autism-diagnosis/

We entered through the glass doors and were swept along with the crowd up escalators, down long hallways lined with multicolored fluorescent light tubes hung as art. People walked in pairs, groups of three, parents with their teens, groups of teens. We walked down a tunnel lined with pink and yellow glass through which we […]

Continue reading

How to Teach ABA Without Making Your Child a Robot

How to Teach ABA Without Making Your Child a Robot https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/teach-without-making-child-robot/

His life was a routine. His life was a schedule. His life was steps. His day-to-day life was chronological. We evolve into the militant enforcers of a strict routine, a strict schedule, the strict followers of chronological order, and we do not delve from that line. Yet, in the physics of constant movement, in the physics […]

Continue reading

Top Advice On Operant Conditioning In Individuals With Autism

Top Advice On Operant Conditioning In Individuals With Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/advice-operant-conditioning-individuals-autism/

People like to be rewarded for a job well done. Rewards can be as simple as a parent praising a child for picking up toys or as significant as getting a promotion after years of dedication and hard work. This reinforcement, known as a part of operant conditioning, helps an individual make an association between […]

Continue reading

3 Ways to Prepare for the IEP Meeting Challenge

3 Ways to Prepare for the IEP Meeting Challenge https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/ways-prepare-iep-meeting-challenge/

I have my boxing gloves on. Shuffling my feet left to right, right to left as I warm-up. In my head, I envision my every move to my opponents. My boxing ring is the stale conference room with the ubiquitous fluorescent lights. I tell myself I’m ready, I’m prepared- but what do you do when […]

Continue reading

10 Behavior Analytic Steps to Forgiveness You Need to Know

10 Behavior Analytic Steps to Forgiveness You Need to Know https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/behavior-analytic-forgiveness-to-know/

What constitutes forgiveness and the best pathway to achieving it is one of the most debated topics around. Some argue that in order to forgive, one must forget past transgressions and “take the high road” or “be the bigger person.” Others claim that forgiveness sets you free. What does all this mean and which philosophy […]

Continue reading

Noah’s Voice: Non-Speaking Man Advocates for Big Changes

Noah’s Voice: Non-Speaking Man Advocates for Big Changes https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/noah-voice-man-advocates-changes/

Nadine and David Seback are the parents of an amazing 20-year-old young man on the autism spectrum named Noah. He is nonverbal but has learned along with his parents to point to letters on a letter board to communicate, so he now is a strong advocate for nonverbal individuals on the spectrum.   I met […]

Continue reading

How to Protect a Child With Autism From Sexual Abuse

How to Protect a Child With Autism From Sexual Abuse https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/protect-child-autism-sexual-abuse/

Each day children wake up and get ready to attend school. During that process, every parent expects that their child will arrive back home in the same condition as when he/she left. Current estimates suggest that 1:3 girls and 1:10 boys will be sexually abused by the time they are 18 years old (Tang, Freyd, […]

Continue reading

Terrific Ways to Join Community Fun With Autism

Terrific Ways to Join Community Fun With Autism https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/terrific-ways-join-community-autism/

For many of us, when we realize our child does not interact typically or when we receive the autism spectrum disorder (ASD) diagnosis, we retreat from the world, narrowing our social interactions to only the most necessary while we learn to cope. My son seemed to delight in this retreat; we created a ‘nation of […]

Continue reading